Nov 17 2018

K-Way SkyRun

  • South Africa (ZAF)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Solo
  • One Day Event
websitefacebookLive Trackingspacer See All Event Posts Follow Event

Length: 100 km
Location: Lady Grey in South Africa

So what makes this 100km trail run any different to others currently on offer? Well besides the fact that it is completely self-supported and self-navigated, as in there is no marked trail, it is one of the most remote races, set high up in the Witteberg Mountain Range in the Eastern Cape. So remote in fact that over the years many competitors have suffered anxiety attacks at the sheer isolation of not seeing another form of human life whilst out on the trail! And add to that the completely unpredictable nature of the weather in the area – competitors are never really sure what they are in for on race day!

SkyRun is THE next level race and it’s easy to understand why it has made it onto the bucket list of serious trail runners around the world. Yet despite being a bucket list race, each year roughly 75% of the field is made up of past runners.

The race encompasses 3 distances – 100km, 65km and 38km. The 100km and 65km races are unique in that they are truly self-supported and self-navigational races, where athletes tackle the remote terrain of the Witteberg Mountain range with a map, compass or GPS unit and a backpack containing all their food, water and compulsory equipment that will enable them to survive in this harsh environment, while operating at an average height of between 2200-2500 meters above sea level.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov