Jun 17 2022

New River Gorge Trail Festival

  • USA (USA)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Solo
  • One Day Event
See All Event Posts Follow Event

Length: 50 km

Experience America's Newest National Park

Experience New River Gorge National Park through this one-of-a-kind event! Starting at the Charlie McCoy Town Park in Fayetteville, West Virginia, this challenging trail race goes into the National Park, through the forest, and loops back to the start, offering views of the river hundreds of feet below. With significant elevation gain, each race offers a difficult yet scenic course.  The New River Gorge National Park offers a wide variety of activities and sites to see post-race as well!

"The course is well marked so you can't get lost!" - 2021 Participant

50k Course Description

New this year, the New River Gorge 50k! Travelling the same course as the Half Marathon, the 50k also has a scenic out and back along the rim of the gorge. With nearly 6,000 ft. of elevation gain and loss on single track trails, the 50k is a course that will push you...but the views will be worth it. The rhododendron tunnels, high passages along the rim, breathtaking vistas, and historic forests perfectly represent West Virginia as Wild and Wonderful!

Half Marathon Course Description

Explore the National Park Trail System with this challenging yet scenic course. The trail surface consists primarily of dirt and gravel. Take in stunning views of the New River Gorge Bridge on Dalton Trail and gaze at the gorge below while running over Kaymoor Top!

5K Course Description

Run under the longest single span arch bridge in the western hemisphere on this challenging 5k trail! This dirt single-track course has 500ft of elevation gain.

"It feels like you're in a rainforest!" - 2021 Participant

Race Swag

All participants will receive:

Short Sleeve Performance Shirt, Beautifully Designed Finisher Medal, Refreshment Packages, Custom Race Bib with Your Name, Free Professional On Course Photography


Awards will be given to the Top 3 Overall Male and Female Open & Masters Finishers as well as the top 3 male and female finishers in the following age groups: 18-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60+. There will be no in-person award ceremony. All awards will be mailed. A virtual awards ceremony will be posted on YouTube in the week following the event.

All finishers of the Bridge Double will receive a custom crafted Bridge Double medal.

Window Start

All 50k participants will have the option to start their race at any point from 6:30 am to 7:00 am. Half Marathon participants will have from 7:30 am to 8:00 am and all 5k participants will have from 7:00 pm to 7:10 pm. The start will be chip timed so there is no penalty to starting later. All results will be based on net (chip) time.

Restrooms and Aid Stations

Portable restrooms will be placed at start/finish area and Kaymoor Top. See course maps below for more detail.Aid stations will be equipped with first aid kits, water, Hammer Nutrition's HEED Sports Drink, cookies, bananas, granola bars, candy, etc. A more detailed list of exactly what foods will be at each aid station will be released in an email closer to the race date. Aid station locations are listed on the race maps below in the Course Details section.

Packet Pick Up

4:30-8:30 PM on Friday, June 17th at Fayetteville Town Park5:30-8:00 AM on Saturday, June 18th at Fayetteville Town Park

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

Rootstock Racing

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov