Skip Navigation

  • News Articles

Dragon's Back Race Film Premiere at ShAFF

Press Release / 23.01.2013

The Dragon's Back Race


We are very excited to announce the premiere of our film about the 2012 Dragon’s Back Race, which will be at the Sheffield Adventure Film Festival on Saturday 2nd March at 8.45 pm.

The legendary Dragon’s Back Race™ follows the mountainous spine of Wales for 320 kilometres with 17,000 metres of ascent across wild, trackless, remote and mountainous terrain. The original Dragon’s Back Race™ happened just once before in 1992 and ever since, it has been whispered about with a mix of awe and trepidation. In September 2012 this truly epic event returned and proved once again that it is one the hardest mountain races in the World.

Award winning camerman and filmmaker Rich Heap was on hand to capture the event and has produced the film, which will premiere at ShAFF.

Join Steve Birkinshaw, Helene Whitaker and Shane Ohly for a Q&A session immediately after the film finishes. Steve Birkinshaw won the Dragon's Back Race in 2012 and is one of Britain's most accomplished endurance mountain runners. Helene Whitaker (alongside Martin Stone) won the original 1992 Dragon's Back Race and astounded many by finishing 4th overall - and first woman - twenty years later in the 2012 race. Shane Ohly is himself an elite mountain runner and also the organiser of the Dragon's Back Race.

We expect this to be a sell out screening so please make sure you book your tickets early.

For more information and to book tickets please visit the ShAFF website here>>>

Watch the ShAFF Trailer here>>>

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

  • Adventure Racing Links

Add a link to the SleepMonsters network

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Fiona McBryde

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov