Skip Navigation

  • News Articles

End of an era for XTERRA South Africa

Press Release / 29.10.2019
Hayley Preen Wins XTERRA South African Championships
Hayley Preen Wins XTERRA South African Championships / © Mark Sampson

After 16 exciting years of off-road triathlon racing, the organizers of XTERRA South Africa have announced that the event will not be hosted by Stillwater Sports in 2020.

“We’ve had 16 wonderful years of hosting XTERRA in South Africa,” says Michael Meyer, Managing Director Stillwater Sports.  “A highlight on SA’s multi-sport calendar, watching the event grow from year to year has been an incredible experience.  We had fourteen exciting years of working alongside XTERRA International, who owns the rights to XTERRA world-wide.  In 2017 XTERRA International welcomed new ownership and unfortunately we’ve been unable to come to an agreement for 2020 and thereafter. 

“We are proud of the fact that for a number of years XTERRA SA has donned the crown of the largest XTERRA in the world.  South Africa also boasts three world champions in Conrad Stoltz (2001, 2002, 2007 and 2010), Anke Erlank (2001) and Bradley Weiss (2017 and 2019). 

“A big congratulations to Bradley for claiming his second world championship title this past Sunday!  Another XTERRA SA Warrior that dominated the XTERRA racing scene for years is Dan Hugo and let’s not forget about the impressive achievements from SA’s age group contestants at the World Championship in Maui each year.

“We are proud to be able to close off XTERRA SA on such a high note.  We would like to thank all our sponsors for their unwavering support. Without them the event would not have been possible.  Lastly to each and every XTERRA athlete thank you for being part of the XTERRA family.  Your support over the last 16 years had a valuable impact on the overall experience of the event.”    

For further information on Stillwater Sports email or visit

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov