Skip Navigation

Secure Your Spot In The 2020 FNB Wines2Whales Switchback

Press Release / 08.11.2019
SeriousGEES at an all-time high for 2020 Switchback
SeriousGEES at an all-time high for 2020 Switchback / © Nick Muzik

In 2020, the FNB Wines2Whales, which traditionally takes riders from the wines of Lourensford to the whales of Hermanus, will switch back on itself and present riders with a completely new journey from Hermanus, to Oak Valley, and onto Lourensford Wine Estate for a truly memorable finish to the inaugural Switchback!
The FNB Wines2Whales Switchback is no simple route reversal, it is a complete reimagining of the trails that have carved their way into South African, and international, mountain bikers' hearts and calendars.
The new route will be a welcome change that all riders can look forward to, while something that remains the same is the price of entries which will not be increased for the 2020 edition of the event. Both returning riders, and first-timers, can be part of the first-ever FNB Wines2Whales Switchback at the same price as the 2019 entry fee, with the added option of a payment plan that allows participants to pay off their entry over three months. Please visit for more information on payment options.
Riders looking to secure their spot on the start line in 2020, and ride their way into the FNB Wines2Whales history books, can secure their entry by visiting from Tuesday, 5 November 2019.
The steps to securing an entry are:
1) Visit
2) Click “ENTER NOW” on the top right of the screen.
3) Select which FNB W2W Switchback event you wish to enter
4) Sign in and complete your entry
For an overview of the changes to the route, please see the 2020 FNB W2W Switchback announcement here:
The FNB Wines2Whales was born out of the desire to create a world-class 3-day stage race in the Western Cape of South Africa. Since inception in 2009, the three events, aptly named after the wines of the area, have become a must-do event on the mountain bike calendar with riders from the farthest reaches of the country and the world.
Its biggest drawcard is undoubtedly the route, which has been perfected over the past 11 years. In 2020, the traditional route will see an immense change as the FNB Wines2Whales switches back on itself and takes riders from the whales of Onrus to the wines of Lourensford. The 2020 FNB Wines2Whales Switchback is no simple route reversal - it is a dramatic reimagining of the route and the trails that have become firm favourites.
The 2020 FNB Wines2Whales Switchback will deliver a mountain bike experience unlike any other in South Africa as it takes in a mix of terrain including private farm roads, majestic mountain singletracks and a historic wagon path.
The spirit of the FNB Wines2Whales is "gees" - truly South African phrase that is only understood once experienced. In 2020, we expect the gees to be at an all-time high as riders write the history books in the inaugural running of the FNB Wines2Whales Switchback.

Three events spread over 10 days – the Chardonnay, Pinotage and Shiraz – ensure there is something for all skillsets with the focus clearly stamped on celebrating the love of mountain biking and the culture that accompanies it.

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

More About FNB Wines2Whales
2020 FNB Wines2Whales: The Switchback

Curro Sponsors Scholarship for Exxaro Team Winners

FNB Wines2Whales Pinotage to host E-Bikers in 2019 edition

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Fiona McBryde

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov