CANCELLED - X-Adventure Dunsborough

  • Australia (AUS)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling
  • Open Water Swimming

Australia’s Favourite Off-Road Triathlon Gaining Steam for 2020

Press Release / 12.11.2019See All Event Posts Follow Event
Racing the X-Adventure Dunsborough
Racing the X-Adventure Dunsborough / © Rapid Ascent

Entries are now open for Australia’s biggest off-road triathlon, X-Adventure Dunsborough. The event will be held in pristine wilderness in south-west Western Australia on Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 April 2020.

The event is the ultimate mix of triathlon and adventure racing featuring an ocean swim, trail run and mountain bike ride in the Meelup Regional Park. The crystal clear waters of Geographe Bay will be doing their best to distract athletes from a fast finish. Conducted in a friendly and welcoming race atmosphere, the weekend features five different off-road races attracting more than 1,500 competitors and many more spectators. And the location is a popular holiday destination whether racing or not.

Held over two days, the premier Long Course race is included in the 2020 WA State Championships and doubles as a qualifier for the ITU Cross-Tri World Championships.

Sam Maffett, General Manager of event organisers Rapid Ascent said he was excited to announce entries are now open for the 8th edition the race.

“The landscape around Dunsborough is perfect for the X-Adventure races, the water is a beautiful turquoise, the granite coastline provides superb trail running and some of WA’s best mountain biking is right on the door step,” Maffett said.

“Athletes of all abilities are welcome. Some of Australia’s fastest off-road racers will be up-front. But the race atmosphere is inclusive and encouraging of all athletes, especially the team categories.  People need only do one leg to be a part of the action.”

The premier event, the X-Adventure Long Course includes 34 kilometres of action with a 1500m ocean swim, 12km trail run, and 20km mountain bike ride. The course attracts racers from corporate relay teams through to weekend warriors and elite athletes.

Frenchman, Simon Billeau, a renowned triathlete and multiple X-Adventure competitor has nothing but praise for the course. “This is a fantastic course, even though it is tough. It’s a great race in such a stunning location like Dunsborough. We are very lucky to have this race here,” Billeau said.

Simon has been appointed as the official ambassador for the 2020 event. He’ll be producing lots of content in the lead up to the weekend in April and will be hosting a training camp at Dunsborough a month before the event.

The weekend also includes a Short course option (700 metre ocean swim, 6km coastal trail run and 11km mountain bike), an Aquathlon-X  (1km swim, 5km trail run) event and other events designed especially for kids. This ensures sporting stars of tomorrow have a chance to join in the fun.

Located in the majesty of Geographe Bay, Dunsborough is renowned for its stunning coastal trails, beautiful blue water and awe-inspiring scenery. The courses stretch into the sacred Meelup Regional Park with all races taking in sculpted granite coastline, running tracks peaking with wildflower and free-flowing single-track for the mountain bike leg.

Entries to the 2019 X-Adventure Dunsborough are OPEN ONLINE at

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov