Skip Navigation

An Alpine Crossing On World-Famous And Hidden Roads

Press Release / 09.12.2019

Riding the TOUR Transalp
Riding the TOUR Transalp / © TOUR Transalp

Europe’s most popular and spectacular stage race for amateur cyclists is entering the 18th round: The TOUR Transalp 2020 leads from 21-27 June over seven stages across the Alps. For the first time the race will start in Bruneck (South Tyrol) – and end in Arco (north of Lake Garda) after 784 kilometres, 17,795 vertical metres and 17 mountain passes. Participants can expect new stage locations and famous passes as well as remote and bizarre routes that are hardly known. The registration for team and individual starters is open

Bielefeld, 7th of December 2019. Seven days of sweating, cheering, fighting and nothing else to do than just one thing: cycling. TOUR Transalp stands for adventure, breaking your limits, team spirit and amazing landscapes. Up to 1000 men and women from more than 30 nations enter the adventure each year – traditionally in teams or since 2019 also as individual riders. For many road cyclists the TOUR Transalp is a life’s dream, others come back to the challenge year after year.

The TOUR Transalp is hosted by Europe’s leading road cycling magazine TOUR. For the 18th time the route is leading crisscross through the Alps without any loss of attraction, because race manager Marc Schneider has designed a course that is really varied – both in terms of sport, landscape and culture. From Bruneck in the Pustertal the race takes off to St. Vigil, followed by the four new locations San Martino di Castrozza, Possagno, Asolo and Lavarone, before it continues to Kaltern and finally to the finish in Arco north of the famous Lake Garda.

Besides well-known passes such as the steep and spectacular Passo di Furcia and Dolomites highlights like Passo Valparola, Falzarego and Rolle, the TOUR Transalp 2020 is conjuring new routes out of a hat, leading the participants into hidden corners aside from highly frequented courses. Across small and inconspicuous passes like the Forcella Franche leading to Lago del Mis, the riders will get to explore new places. Also at the famous Monte Grappa, there is still something new to discover: A panoramic side street that has never been part of the Transalp before is going up the mountain. Equally new is the great climb up to the high plateau between Monte Grappa and Trento. Not as new, but still an insider tip is the remote and curious San Boldo Pass with its tunnels blasted into the rock with hairpin turns or loops.

In short: The 2020 route offers a great mix of tough climbs, curvy descents and passages where you also have time to enjoy the impressive mountain scenery.

The entry fee for both team and solo riders is 999 euros. U23-riders only pay 799 euros and on top of that, they get free overnight stay in the Transalp Camp. The starter package covers benefits like professional time keeping, luggage transport, catering on the road, medical support, daily evening event, technical bike service, finisher jersey, medal and much more. About 150 organisers and volunteers take care of a smooth running, so for seven days, the riders can feel like real pros.

More details about the event and the route under:

The registration is open:

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

More About CANCELLED: TOUR Transalp 2020

The New Date For The TOUR Transalp is Announced For June 2021.

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Fiona McBryde

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov