Lars Bukkehave Joins NIAR and Nordic Adventure Racing League Launched

Press Release / 23.12.2020
Lars advising teams as Race Director at the Montane Kong Vinter
Lars advising teams as Race Director at the Montane Kong Vinter / © Montane Kong Vinter

Lars Bukkehave has become part of the race organization of the Nordic Islands Adventure Race which is a member of the ARWS - the Adventure Racing World Series. He has over 10 years of experience organising the Kong Vinter Adventure Race in Denmark and other popular races within the Nordic countries. He is also one of the founders of the Danish Adventure Race Union.

In his pack, he also bring experience from organising Xterra Denmark and Xterra Norway. He is an ARWS referee and has been racing himself for over 15 years, with a first place in the notorious Patagonian Expedition Race as a highlight.

In addition to NIAR, Nordic Island Adventure Race, a full length expedition race in the ARWS that takes place around Stockholm, Sweden June 4-10, the organisation will expand with a new series called the Nordic Adventure Racing League.

In 2021 there will be 3 races in the League, including a 24-hour and 8-hour race. Provisional dates are as follows;

  • April 17-18th; Denmark, Copenhagen
  • Norway, place and date (TBA)
  • June 5-6th; Sweden, Stockholm Adventure Racing World Series
  • June 4-10th; Sweden, Stockholm - ARWS

In the long run, the ambition is to expand and also organize Adventure Races in Finland, Iceland, The Faroe Islands, and Greenland.

The first race in the League will be around Copenhagen on April 17th, 2021. More information and registrations for all races will be out on in January.

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov