La Gesta ARWS S. America

  • Paraguay (PRY)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling

La Gesta in Paraguay Starts the ARWS S. America Series

Press Release / 23.01.2021Live TrackingSee All Event Posts Follow Event
La Gesta will feature many historic sites in Northern Paraguay
La Gesta will feature many historic sites in Northern Paraguay

LA GESTA 2021 will be the first ever tier 2 ARWS regional round in South America and starts this weekend!  

It will offer a very challenging course of over 170kms over 20 to 24hs combining 130k mtb, 30k treking and 10k paddling with good navigation choices.  25 Teams from all over Paraguay and 2 international teams will participate in the Expedition full course format and many more in the short course events.  (There are also 50km and 30km multisport races and a series of trail races.)

The 4 person mixed team winning the elite race will be the first team ever to qualify for the regional championship to be hosted in Pucón Chile at the end of 2021.  

This is the 5th edition of the race and the Ñandupé Aventura team lead by Rodrigo Cubilla has everything prepared for this amazing race in Humaitá, a venue in northern Paraguay filled with important regional stories and legends. There are many fortifications built to defend Paraguay in the late 1800’s during the Triple Alliance War with Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay.

Luis Bernal (the former President of The Adventure Runners Club who organise AR in Paraguay) will be the assigned referee to this event. "It's a great experience I've been craving for some time to understand the full meaning of being an adventure racer". He said.

Trackers provided by the organization will allow people from all over to dotwatch the first regional ARWS tier 2 event!

You can see the tracking at;

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov