ÖTILLÖ, The Swimrun World Championship

  • Sweden (SWE)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Open Water Swimming

ÖTILLÖ The Swimrun World Championship 2021 - It’s confirmed!

Press Release / 27.05.2021See All Event Posts Follow Event
Racing at ÖTILLÖ The Swimrun World Championship
Racing at ÖTILLÖ The Swimrun World Championship / © Jakob Edholm

The ÖTILLÖ organisers are very happy to announce that ÖTILLÖ, The Swimun World Championship will be held as planned on 6 September 2021. Outdoor event organisers have finally received the green light from the authorities in Sweden to run events again, evidently following a protocol of restrictions. This will be the 15th edition of the prestigious, hard-fought and original swimrun event after 14 consecutive years followed by a gap year in 2020 because of the world pandemic.

After a complicated year for outdoor sports organisers we are finally back where we belong, creating events in fantastic nature. As one of the leaders in the outdoor segment, the ÖTILLÖ organization is relieved to start hosting races again, for swimrun and outdoor lovers on all levels. The 15th edition of the original swimrun race in the Stockholm Archipelago, will be a celebration to sports, team spirit, nature and the outdoors. And it will be a hell of a race, said Mats Skott co-founder of ÖTILLÖ and the swimrun movement.

ÖTILLÖ, The Swimrun World Championship is the pinnacle of the sport of swimrun. It’s the original race that started off as a bet between four friends and then turned into one of the most prominent and hard-fought endurance races in the world. The 75 km race of combining trail running and open water swimming, over and between 24 islands in the stunning nature of the Stockholm archipelago, attract athletes from all over the world. The top names in swimrun battle for the sought-after podium spots and the other athletes fight for a finisher status. Many have dreamt about and trained for the unique challenge for years. It’s an exceptional opportunity to test your outermost abilities, race in pairs, use your tactics, and adapt and work with the conditions that nature has on offer.

With two years of preparation, it will be an exciting 15th edition of ÖTILLÖ, The Swimrun World Championship, where we most likely will see new faces chasing for the top spots.

Fast Facts - ÖTILLÖ - The Swimrun World Championships 2021

15th edition

  • 75 km running and swimming from dawn till dusk in the Stockholm archipelago
  • 65 km of trail running
  • 10 km of open water swimming in the Baltic Sea
  • Water temperature 10–15° C
  • 24 islands to cross
  • 50 changes between running and swimming
  • The swims are between 100 and 1 780 metres long
  • The runs are between 70 and 19 700 metres long
  • Longest swim 1 780 metres
  • Longest run 19,7 km
  • 160 teams – three categories: women, mixed, men
  • Teams of two; for safety reasons and for the unique experience
  • 24 Nationalities

Reigning world champions (winners 2019):

  • Men: Pontus Lindberg and George Bjälkemo (SWE), Team ATG Sport, 7:47:48
  • Mixed: Charlotte Eriksson and Simon Börjeson (SWE), Team Garmin, 8:38:10
  • Women: Fanny Danckwardt and Desirée Andersson (SWE), Team Envol, 9:05:29

Course records (all categories from 2018):

  • Men: 7:39:25 - Fredrik Axegård och Alex Flores (SWE), Team Sport Office
  • Mixed: 8:16:15 - Martin Flinta (SWE) and Helena Erbenova Karaskova (CZE), Thule Crew/Wolffwear Swimrun
  • Women: 8:56:26 - Kristin Larsson and Annika Ericsson (SWE), Team Outdoor Experten

Ranked by CNN as one of the toughest endurance challenges in the world. Featured in NYT, Outside Magazine, l’Equipe Magazine, TF1, Focus, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Le Monde, The Daily Telegraph and many more.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov