Women's Category Takes Spotlight at the Western States 100-Mile Endurance Run!

Press Release / 06.07.2021
Beth Pascall wins the Western States 100-Mile Endurance Run
Beth Pascall wins the Western States 100-Mile Endurance Run / © Ultra Trail World Tour

It is one of the most anticipated races of the year, and this year was no exception. The Western States 100-Mile Endurance Run saw for the first time in its history three women finishing in the overall top ten last weekend. 
A result that confirms that when it comes to ultra-endurance, the difference between men and women starts to diminish. The Englishwoman, Beth Pascall, won first place and set the second-best time in the history of the race, still held by the British Ellie Greenwood (16:47).  In addition to making race history, Beth, who took a sabbatical year to devote herself to the competition, moved up to seventh place overall. 
New Zealander Ruth Croft, already victorious in the Tarawera Ultramarathon this year, has had an incredible season, taking part in the American race for the first time and finishing second. Spanish runner Ragna Debats came third in the women’s and tenth overall in the race, with a time of 17:41:13.

Women's podium
1. Beth Pascall - 17:10:42 
2. Ruth Croft - 17:33:48 
3. Ragna Debats - 17:41:13

Americans Jim Walmsley and Hayden Hawks were favourites to win this year in the men’s category, despite Jim's uncertain form due to an injury in the spring and Hayden's lack of experience over this distance. As is often the case with this event, the title contenders had to deal with the heat, which was close to 37 degrees, as well as the challenging altitude, which saw the favourites fall back one by one. The runner exceptional to this was Jim, whose endurance and experience saw him take first place for the third time in a row with 14:46, despite the performance being far from his own record (14:09). 

Men's podium
1. Jim Walmsley - 14:46:01 
2. Tyler Green - 16:11:02 
3.Drew Holmen - 16:23:09

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov