Entries Open to Bucket-List Trail Running Stage Race

Press Release / 15.10.2021
Run Larapinta
Run Larapinta / © Rapid Ascent

Entries are now open to the Run Larapinta Stage Race with two events to take place in 2022 due to the 2021 event postponement. Organisers Rapid Ascent expect both events to reach their field limits of 200 runners within weeks of opening.

The renowned 4-day, 4-stage trail running events will be held on 22 - 25 April 2022 and 12-15 August 2022 along the most spectacular sections of the iconic Larapinta Trail in Australia’s Northern Territory.

Rapid Ascent’s General Manager Sam Maffett is looking forward to sharing the outback trail running experiences;

“We are very excited to host two events in 2022 after COVID-19 and the subsequent restrictions affected the 2020 and 2021 races,” said Maffett. “With lockdowns and border closures hopefully a thing of the past, we can’t wait can showcase the beauty of the Red Centre to enthusiastic runners next year.”

The event is far more a running experience than a race and the landscape is sure to blow people away.

“Many participants come away with life-long friendships and have reset their limits of what they can achieve when they cross the final finish line; it really is an amazing experience,” said Maffett.

Rapid Ascent urges anyone that is interested to enter early to avoid missing out; with the self-imposed field limit in place to preserve an intimate experience for all participants. With plenty of pent-up travel desire amongst runners it is expected that the races will continue to be very popular.

“We were all impacted by COVID-19 and felt our wings clipped by restrictions and lockdowns, so the chance to get away and experience a unique landscape with an amazing group of runners is something we’re all looking forward to,” said Maffett.

The official courses follow sections of Larapinta Track in the heart of the West MacDonnell Ranges, to the west of Alice Springs. With spectacular views at every turn, it’s no wonder Run Larapinta, now in its’ seventh year, quickly gained a reputation as a must-do bucket-list event.

Two different course lengths are on offer: the Malbunka long course features stages of 20km - 46km each day and The Namatjira stages of 12km - 31km.

Stage 1 and 2 of the April and August events follow the same courses, however Stage 3 and 4 differ;

The April event visits Brinkley Bluff and Ellery Creek Waterhole and is based out of Alice Springs for the duration; while the August event visits Ormiston Gorge and Mt Sonder, and moves to The Glen Helen Outback Lodge for nights 3 and 4.

Previous participants have nothing but positive enthusiasm for the stage-race:

Jacqui from the 2021 April event said, "Run Larapinta was an absolutely incredible experience and is now my favourite run ever - the scenery is simply breathtaking! It was also one of the hardest events I've ever done, but it has also reignited that passion to push myself further and to learn to be a better a runner."

Lonneke who is also from the 2021 April event said, "You’ll come away from this event with a massive buzz and new running mates for life! It was everything I hoped for and more!”

Andrew from 2019 said “I loved this event. It challenged me and I hope I am a better prepared runner because of it. The landscape we ran through is unbelievably beautiful and inspiring. The event organisation was flawless and allowed us runners to just get on and enjoy ourselves.” 

 Robyn, at 64 years of age from the 2018 event said, “This was one of the most enjoyable and challenging experiences in my life. The comradeship of the other competitors and the event organisers left you feeling like you had been friends forever.”  

For more details on the Run Larapinta Stage Race in April or August, or further event details head to the official website at www.RunLarapinta.com.au.

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov