XTERRA Short Track Series Starts July 2 in France

Press Release / 06.05.2022

The first of four events in the 2022 XTERRA Short Track Series debuts July 2 in Xonrupt, France, followed by races in Prachatice, Czech Republic (August 14), Zittau, Germany (August 19), and Trentino, Italy (October 2).

The fast-paced, made-for-TV format mixes a 400-meter two-lap swim with a technical four-loop 8-kilometer mountain bike and two-lap 3km sprint to the finish.

While no two courses are the same, the challenge generally takes the invite-only elite field of 25 men and women less than 40 minutes to complete, is broadcast live, and awards €45,000 in prize money to the top performers in the Series.

Elites are chosen in order of their position in the XTERRA World Rankings and are required to race in the full-distance event to be eligible for the XTERRA Short Track showdown. Each event also entertains Wild Card entries that add value to the broadcast.

“These are showcase events featuring our sports’ biggest stars up close and personal, racing head-to-head at our most iconic destinations,” said Nico Lebrun, former XTERRA World Champion and current XTERRA Europe technical director. “The very nature of short track racing makes it exciting with lots of passing, shoulder to shoulder action, multiple lead changes and close finishes in front of big crowds.”

The adrenaline-fueled events will be held the day before the traditional full-distance XTERRA France and XTERRA Germany off-road triathlons, and the day after the XTERRA European and World Championships, dishing out a total of €200,000 purse to the world's fastest XTERRA racers over those four weekends.

Learn more on each event, how to enter, and how to watch at xterraplanet.com.

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov