Skip Navigation

Langvad and Van der Breggen Quickly Take Control

Press Release / 17.03.2019
The Prologue Prize Giving
The Prologue Prize Giving / © Absa Cape Epic

Mountain biking World Champion Annika Langvad and her road riding World and Olympic Champion partner Anna van der Breggen put down a marker in the opening Prologue of the Absa Cape Epic at the University of Cape Town on Sunday.

The Investec-songo-Specialized pair removed any doubt they are going to be the team to beat this week as they powered along the slopes of Table Mountain and completed the 20km stage in a time of 51 minutes and 44 seconds. They will take a big two-minute 35-second lead into Stage 1 which starts and finishes in Hermanus on Monday.

Ariane Lüthi, who partnered Langvad to three Absa cape Epic wins, and Maja Wloszczowska from the Kross-Spur Racing team ended second in the Prologue, with Summit Fin’s Candice Lill and Adelheid Morath third, 14 seconds further back.

Langvad and Van der Breggen were the final pairing from the elite women’s race to set off in the time trial format and it was quickly obvious they were the team to beat. When they passed the first intermediate timing point after just six kilometres they had already negotiated the early climbs a massive 66 seconds quicker than any of their rivals.

Effectively the Danish and Dutch World Champions had reduced the stage – and probably the entire event – to a race for second within six kilometres.

At the highest point of Sunday’s stage, after 16km and just before the riders began the more technical downhill sections back to the finish, Langvad and Van der Breggen had doubled that lead to over two minutes, giving them a cushion to ride a controlled descent back to the start/finish.

They made sure there were no mistakes and crossed the line with a healthy, morale-boosting lead over all their rivals.

“Getting a good start is always very important,” said Langvad after the finish. “It is good for the morale and good for the motivation.

“I think it is the hardest and fastest Prologue I have ever done at the Absa Cape Epic.”

Van der Breggen was relieved and pleased to have the Prologue behind her.

“It is nice it has finally started … and it started in a nice way,” said the 2016 Olympic Champion. “Today was better than we expected, but we have seven more days to go and we will have to see what is coming up.”

As a road rider there were question marks over Van der Breggen’s speed in the technical sections but the current Road World Champion has established her credentials and was even lamenting the fact she had to slow down at times.

“I liked the Land Rover Technical Terrain today, but they are not the most technical sections of the whole race,” said Van der Breggen. “For me the technical sections are quite difficult because I want to go fast always. On a road bike you can always go fast, but here you can go too fast so I have to get used to taking some speed off sometimes. At least with Annika I absolutely have one of the best to follow and she can show me what to do.”

There was also some drama in the Absa African Women’s Jersey with dormakaba Ladies team of Sam Sanders and Amy McDougall claiming the stage win over Land Rover Jaguars pairing of Hannele Steyn and Katja Steenkamp.

Sanders and McDougall will take a 33-second lead into Stage One on Monday after the Galileo Risk team of Theresa Ralph and Sarah Hill were penalised 30 minutes for drafting.

While Sunday’s 20km stage on the slopes of Table Mountain National Park was a test of speed and climbing strength, Monday’s Stage 1 will be place more emphasis on endurance with the 111km ride including 2 700m of climbing.

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

More About ABSA Cape Epic

Schurter and Langvad Guide Their Newbies Home

High Fives for Annika and Anna

Scott-SRAM MTB-Racing Cruise to Overall Honours

Langvad and Van der Breggen back on top at Absa Cape Epic

Loitering within Tents

Locals Woo the Queen

SA rider is Queen of Queen Stage

Even a Crash Cannot Stop Investec-songo-Specialized

Scott-SRAM MTB-Racing Storm Back Through the Time Trial

Drama on Stage 3 Sees Yellow Jerseys Change Hands

Anna and Annika Keep Their Perfect Record Intact

Hat trick for Schurter and Forster

Langvad / Van der Breggen Increase Their Absa Cape Epic Lead

Swiss Pair Consolidate Overnight Lead

Cross Country Specialists Make Intentions Clear At Prologue

Untold Stories of the Absa Cape Epic

Last Lions Roar On in 2019

Battle Lines Drawn for 2019 Absa Cape Epic

Iron Cowboy Prepares To Tackle The Untamed African Mountain Bike Race

Mixed Aspirations for Triple World Champ, Óscar Freire

War Veterans to Battle Preconceptions By Taking On The Absa Cape Epic

Icon of South African Cycling to Ride his First Absa Cape Epic

Effervescent Hermida and Rodriguez Return to Master the Absa Cape Epic

Espargaró Swaps Leathers for Lycra at the Absa Cape Epic

ABSA Cape Epic

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Adventure Racing Tags

Eco-Challenge Fiji Islands, Rogue Raid, Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020, The 25th Corsica Raid, Swiss Epic, PARS Turbo 2020, Lapland Wilderness Challenge, ÖTILLÖ World Series Engadin, The Lockdown, Sea to Sea Expedition Race, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Adventure Racing, Expedition Racing, Adventure Racing World Series, Eco Challenge, Adventure Racing European Series

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov