Skip Navigation

A New Look Stage Race for Mountain Bikers in the Red Centre

Press Release / 06.02.2020
13 Year Old Lucas Clarke riding stage 3 last year
13 Year Old Lucas Clarke riding stage 3 last year / © Rapid Ascent

The award-winning Redback MTB stage race is back for 2020 after a significant makeover. The race, with six stages and four days of mountain biking, returns with a number of tweaks both on the track and off the track. 

The riders have spoken and the event organisers, Rapid Ascent, have responded: new stages, new trails, longer rides and plenty of sunshine—all from a single hotel in Alice Springs. Dates for the 2020 event are Thursday 20 August to Sunday 23 August.

The event is known for its easy race logistics and friendly race vibe attracting riders from all over Australia—no rental cars or support crew are required. “Riders can start and finish in Alice Springs without having to book multiple hotel rooms or camp sites. It’s a massive weight off the shoulders so you can just concentrate on riding,” said race director, John Jacoby.

“The event is all about racing some good miles on your bike and then kicking back with participants new and old afterward,” added Jacoby.

New for 2020 is an opening stage of 36 kilometres thundering through Alice Springs’ famed single tracks in the “West Side’ area. This area has witnessed great development in recent years and the new 2020 course will include plenty of the popular new trails as part of the makeover of the event and courses. With almost ‘too much single track’, stage one sets the scene for the ultimate multi-day event.

The schedule for each stage has also changed in 2020 with two racing stages on day one and day three and single stages on day two and four. The revised format provides more time for rest and relaxation (around the pool) between stages while still providing plenty of variety and riding action.

Another new addition for the 2020 is the opportunity for the ‘most average’ club or group to win $1,000 cash to top up their supplies. The event has always attracted plenty of social groups of riding friends so this new award for the ‘most-average’ will add some extra fun.

First held in 2008, The Redback will celebrate its 13th anniversary in 2020. Many riders consider the race a dream mountain-bike holiday with most travelling to the Red Centre for a mid-winter escape. The comradery forged with fellow riders is unmatched.

“Mountain biking definitely brings people together. You could see it after every stage where people would be comparing stories from the day's adventures out on the trails. This carries over to the pool, dinner, the airport and all the way back home,” said 2019 Ambassador, Paul Van Der Ploeg.

The race has been designed to be fun and achievable for riders of all abilities with some professionals mixed in. Riders up the front in 2019 were some of Australia’s best including Paul Van Der Ploeg, Rohin Adams, Henry Hackett and Oliver Hartung. Pro mountain biker Brendan Johnston will be leading the charge as official ambassador in 2020.

For more information about The Redback 2020 please visit

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

Cancelled for 2020 - The Redback

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Adventure Racing Tags

Eco-Challenge Fiji Islands, Rogue Raid, Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020, The 25th Corsica Raid, Swiss Epic, PARS Turbo 2020, Lapland Wilderness Challenge, ÖTILLÖ World Series Engadin, The Lockdown, Sea to Sea Expedition Race, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Adventure Racing, Expedition Racing, Adventure Racing World Series, Eco Challenge, Adventure Racing European Series

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov