Expedition Africa 120km Cape St Francis Resort

  • South Africa (ZAF)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling
  • Navigation

The ARWS Africa Series Continues with Round 4 at Cape St Francis Resort

Press Release / 08.09.2021See All Event Posts Follow Event
The winners on the finish line in the last race at Swellendam
The winners on the finish line in the last race at Swellendam / © Expedition Africa

Saturday, 18th of September will see the top adventure racers of South Africa line up for the 4th event of the ARWS Africa series.  Teams have now visited all corners of South Africa during 2021 with events in Bronkhorstspruit, Gauteng followed by Swellendam, Western Cape and Parys in the Northwest province.

The Eastern Cape will now play host for the 4thevent in the series at the magnificent Cape St Francis.

With 2 events remaining in the series the momentum to crown the best AR team in South Africa in November at Alpine Heath Resort in the Drakensberg is building.

The winner of the ARWS Africa series will secure their place at the Adventure Racing World Championship in Paraguay 2022.

The two top teams on the current ranking, DSV Cyanosis and Songlines are neck and neck in this battle and a win at Cape St Francis will go far to secure their place at the top of the podium.

Teams Pinegold, Addicted2Adventure, Jabberwock and Truffle Hunters are in close competition with each other to secure 3rd place and a good showing by teams Shnazen Hazen, Red Ants Adventure racing and Plett Adventure will cement their place in the top 10.

A welcome return to the AR circuit is a new team - Team Wanderlust -with AR legends, Tatum Prins, and John Collins.  Watch out for them, they might “upset” the established leader board.

Registration will be at the Cape St. Francis Resort on Friday night. Early Saturday morning will see teams bussed out to the, still secret, starting areas. This year there will be two events: 60km & 120km. The 120km event will see teams starting in the mountains and racing back to the beach at the Cape St Francis Resort and the highest point teams will cross is a mountain peak 800m above sea level with spectacular views of the sea in the distance.

The 60km route provides teams with an opportunity for a shorter taste of adventure. Teams who have not been able to train due to Covid and the restrictions imposed on them will also have an opportunity to get back into the game and be part of the Adventure Racing feeling again.

As always, teams will be welcomed at the finish line with a boerewors roll and a beer to celebrate the moment.  On Sunday morning teams can enjoy a hearty breakfast followed by the Awards ceremony around the outside pool area. It’s a fantastic venue to bring friends and family to enjoy the absolute beauty of the area and with wonderful restaurants and facilities on it’s a perfect getaway for team supporters and family.

Entries for the race close 10 September 2021.

Visit the website to see the Entry list at; http://www.expafrica.net/Events/Expedition-Africa-120-km-Cape-St-Francis-Resort#686145-team-format--teams-entered

You can see the current ARWS – Africa rankings at:  http://www.expafrica.net/

For more on Cape St. Francis see;  https://www.capestfrancis.co.za/

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov