The K-Way MaxiRace Cape Winelands

  • South Africa (ZAF)
  • Off-Road Running

Josua Chigome Wins Maxirace Cape Winelands

Press Release / 15.10.2021See All Event Posts Follow Event
Joshua Chigome
Joshua Chigome / © Craig Kolesky/ Nikon

Perfect trail running conditions greeted the participants this morning at the 2021 K-Way Maxirace Cape Winelands presented by Banhoek Chilli Oil, with a fight for the top 3 places playing out over the course of the race between Joshua Chigome, Gabriel Kriel and AJ Calitz. Joshua took a convincing win in a time of 8hrs14min10sec, with Gabriel in 2nd place in a time of 8hrs27min23sec and K-Way athlete, AJ, taking 3rd place in 8hrs33min55sec.

“What a great, but tough route, it had a little bit of everything in it,” says winner, Joshua Chigome. “We had typical spring Cape Town weather, it was cold on the mountain this morning, but that was a great incentive to run faster! It was a great race, really well organised!”

Taking first place in the ladies category was Jana Van Houwelingen in a time of 11hrs21min46sec, with a close race between Kelly Shepherd in 2nd place in 11hrs35min06sec, and one minute later Sofi Ackerman in 3rd place in 11hrs 36min 11sec.

“That was an incredibly tough day out, but I am so thankful to have been able to run it and win it,” says leading lady, Jana van Houwelingen. “I feel very blessed to have been able to spend all of that time out in the mountains today!”

John April took podium position for the 45km route in a time of 3hrs46min35sec, with Kyle Bucklow in 2nd place in 3hrs48min59sec and Grobler Basson in 3rd in 3hrs50min04sec. Christelle Hattingh was the first lady over the line in a time of 4hrs43min36sec, with Jade Bucklow in 2nd place in 4hrs48min30sec and Tarrin van Niekerk in 3rd place in 4hrs56min38sec.

For more info and all results please visit

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov