ABSA Cape Epic

  • South Africa (ZAF)
  • Off-Road Cycling

NinetyOne-songo-Specialized Go Seven-From-Seven

Press Release / 23.10.2021See All Event Posts Follow Event
Sina Frei _ Laura Stigger of NinetyOne-songo-Specialized lead Mariske Strauss _ Candice Lill of Faces CST
Sina Frei _ Laura Stigger of NinetyOne-songo-Specialized lead Mariske Strauss _ Candice Lill of Faces CST / © Gary Perkin/ABSA Cape Epic

The Race That Measures All very nearly saw a new stage winner in the women’s race in Wellington today. But in the end, Sina Frei and Laura Stigger (NinetyOne-songo-Specialized) won a sprint finish to claim their seventh straight win (one Prologue and six stages).

Mariske Strauss crossed the line first, but Frei and Stigger came in together, with Candice Lill just off the pace. It meant the Faces CST team had to be happy with second on the day, after an excellent ride.

With wet and muddy conditions and a consistently up and down race profile, the 81km Stage 6 was another challenge for elite and amateur riders alike. Frei and Stigger have an insurmountable overall lead, so the drama was always most likely to come from another team deciding to attack the stage. That attack came from Faces CST, who started pushing the pace from the halfway mark. 

By 48km into the stage, Faces CST and NinetyOne-songo-Specialized had pulled away from Salusmed (Ariane Luthi and Robyn de Groot). With steep climbs and technical descents the feature of the second part of the stage, Strauss, Lill, Frei, and Stigger remained close throughout.

On the final descent, Frei and Stigger pulled away slightly, and then on the final 10km - which was fast and flat through the vineyards - they looked to have the stage wrapped up. Stigger, though, took Frei down a wrong turn, allowing Straus and Lill to move into the lead. 

From the Live Broadcast, it appeared that Lill and Strauss waited for the overall leaders to rejoin them. But Strauss confirmed after the stage, with her typical good humour, that it was merely an optical illusion. "We didn't wait,” she said. “It just looked like it! Haha."

Strauss led the three riders into the final stretch, dodging massive puddles on the way to the finish. On the grass finish chute, Strauss was still in the lead and looked the strongest of the four. As she attacked, Lill was unable to go with her, allowing the NinetyOne-songo-Specialized team to block her out and cross the line together for the stage win. 

“That was quite an interesting and adventurous stage,” said Stigger. “I lost two contact lenses, and I took a wrong turn!”

She added that Lill and Strauss pushed all the way. “Candice and Mariske really made us suffer today. They were very strong. It was super close in the end. It was a good race.”

Sina Frei said the pace was flat out at the finish. “Mariske was incredibly strong today. Towards the end, she was really putting out a good pace and we worked hard to stay with her. After four hours of hard riding, it’s not easy to sprint, but we managed to get it right and we are thrilled with another stage win.”

After a good day on the trails, Strauss and Lill have now moved into second place in the overall standings of the women’s race, with an 11-minute lead over Luthi and De Groot. “We ride each day depending on how we feel,” said Strauss. “And today was just a really good day where we felt strong throughout. I’m very proud of our effort and can’t wait for tomorrow.”

At 68km, Stage 7 should be a short and explosive ride tomorrow - Lill and Strauss will no doubt try once more to claim a stage win.

Tune in to the Live Broadcast of Stage 7 from 08:30 on the Absa Cape Epic Facebook pageYouTube account, and/or Absa Cape Epic website

Stage 6 Results: 

1) NinetyOne-songo-Specialized, Sina FREI, Laura STIGGER 04:14:13.1

2) Faces CST, Candice LILL, Mariske STRAUSS 04:14:13.7 | +00:00:00.6

3) Salusmed, Ariane LÜTHI, Robyn DE GROOT 04:26:22.3 | +00:12:09.2

General classification after Stage 6: 

1) NinetyOne-songo-Specialized, Sina FREI, Laura STIGGER 27:18:02 

2) Faces CST, Candice LILL, Mariske STRAUSS 27:48:14.7 | +00:30:12.6

3) Salusmed, Ariane LÜTHI, Robyn DE GROOT 27:59:02.7 | +00:41:00.6

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov