Montane Spine Race

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running

Debbie Martin Consani Claims Emphatic Win in the Montane Spine Race 2022

Press Release / 14.01.2022See All Event Posts Follow Event
Debbie Martin-Consani at the finish of the Montane Spine Race
Debbie Martin-Consani at the finish of the Montane Spine Race / © Adam Jacobs

Debbie Martin-Consani arrived in Kirk Yetholm this afternoon, securing a resounding win as the first woman to finish this year’s race in 104 hrs 8 minutes, 3hrs ahead of her closest rival.

When asked how she felt about her victory, Debbie said, ‘It’s quite unbelievable, nobody is more shocked about it than me.’  When asked how she had felt when learning that Sabrina Verjee had withdrawn from the race while holding a good lead, she said, ‘It changed the whole make-up of the race. I’d just been doing my own thing and then I had to think about how everyone else was doing. It changed the last few days completely.’

Debbie ran through some very hard times, arriving at the finish line listing heavily over to one side due to a back injury.

The Race Organisers said of her performance, ‘it was the very definition of leaving it all on the trail. Debbie has bent herself in half to get to this finish line and remained gregarious, friendly and generous of spirit throughout.  She is an exceptional athlete.’

The 2nd and 3rd placed runners in the event also finished today.  They were Doug Zinis and James Leavesley.  They’d been running together for several days and chose to touch the wall at the same time.

Elaine Bisson also finished this evening, securing 2nd position.  In 3rd position is now, and yet to reach the finish, is Brigadier Lizzie Faithful-Davies.

You can see a post-race interview with Debbie at;

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov