The Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling

Vlad the Victorious

Rob Howard / 22.06.2005See All Event Posts Follow Event
With no other yachts in sight, or even in Loch Linnhe, Greg Marsh and Ian Winterburn ran across the finish line to win the 2005 Three Peaks Yacht Race for Vlad the Impaler.

With the clouds lifting off Ben Nevis behind them they were greeted by their team and support crew, marshals and spectators as they crossed the line at 12.42 to complete the race in 3 days 18 hours 47 minutes. Marsh had a grazed leg and swollen right hand after a fall, but even so Winterburn had struggled to keep up with him on the road back to the finish at Corpach.

“It was really slippy on the mountain,� he said, “and cold on the top, but we made it up from the end of the road to the summit in 1.40 and were pleased with that.� Marsh added, “I even managed to throw a snowball at him on the summit.�

The team won the race and the prestigious Tilman Trophy, have lead throughout and finished many hours ahead of their nearest rivals. For Marsh it was the culmination of an ambition held for 12 years and no one can remember the last time a team all new to the race won. It was an impressive and decisive win, all the more so as they lost big advantages due to the tides 3 times.

After crossing the finish line the team opened the champagne on the boat and raised their glasses. “The best team won!� said Marsh with a broad smile.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov