The Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)

Rush for the Bar

Rob Howard / 18.06.2006See All Event Posts Follow Event
With low water effectively shutting the entrance to the sea lock at Whitehaven Marina at 22.30 a small group of yachts were racing to arrive in time, desperate to get across the bar to enter the outer harbour and through the gates.

As the deadline approached there was a rush to get through. (This seems to happen every year. There is nothing like a deadline to encourage haste!) First in were Road Runner, then came Paget’s Lady, Tactix, Highland Spirit, Confusion and Kithros II, all between 22.17 and 23.19. Kithross II were last in, lucky to make it as they only draw 1.1m on their keel.

The marshals were hard pressed to kit check everyone with 3 or 4 teams there at once, all preparing their bikes, lights and kit for what will be a stormy night on the mountain. While they will face a tough night on the hill, it would be worse to anchored outside the harbour for hours in stormy conditions.

“That was a wild last few hours,� said Andy Wilson of Highland Spirit. “We had the main and spinnaker up. We were flying but blew the spinnaker out half an hour from Whitehaven and only just made it in. The lock keeper said we had 1.6m and we draw 1.8 so we must have ploughed a trench!�

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov