The Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)

Indian Summer Arrives

Rob Howard / 26.06.2006See All Event Posts Follow Event
After an epic journey, 6 days 9 hours and 42 minutes after starting, Indian Summer completed the 29th Three Peaks Yacht Race when their runners, Dave Walsh and Josh Wright came back down off Ben Nevis.

The team had arrived in Fort William in 25 knots of wind at 18.11 on Friday, a tide earlier than expected and for the two runners conditions on Ben Nevis were remarkably good, with some clear patches and, astonishingly, no wind on the summit. The crew and support were waiting for them at the foot of the mountain (where there is a pub) and turned out to cheer them on, along with most of the drinkers from the bar!

They ran in along the side of the Caledonian Canal to finish at 23.17 and were greeted with a continuation of the party from the pub and a spray of champagne from their delighted team. They’d finished over 2 days behind the 8th placed team and were proud and resounding winners of the ‘Last Inn’ Cup. “We’re the only crusier to finisher,� said Skipper Keith Mander, “and we’re really proud of that.� They also missed the race party by 24 hours ... but had their own anyway.

The team had taken shelter against the appalling weather for much of Tuesday and Wednesday in Port Patrick, and had overcome injury and difficult sailing conditions to stay in the race.

“Our runners did so well to keep us in the race�, said Mander. “We were among the last to arrive at Caernarfon, but they gained so many places and we were really encouraged. The trouble was our marathon runner, Dave Walsh, injured his knee on Snowdon, so Josh Wright had to step in to complete the Scafell Pike stage.�

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov