The PowerBar Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)

A Full Race & Worldwide TV Coverage

Rob Howard / 20.06.2007See All Event Posts Follow Event
This years race has a full entry is looking set to be one of the most competitive and exciting for years.

In the early days of the race the entry limit was 35 and only those who applied on the day entries opened could hope to get a place (and in those days the wait list ran to 20 or 30 teams). Entries declined in the 90’s but in recent years they have been on the rise and now the waitlist is back in operation, although that is in part as the entry limit is now set at 25.

This is due to the harbour at Barmouth silting up in the intervening years and the number of moorings being limited, and at present the entry stands at 27, with the inclusion of two bilge keelers who don’t require a mooring and so get a place in the race.

Last years storms and the consequent high number of withdrawals are one of the reasons for a full entry – many teams have come back to complete unfinished business. These include Whisky Galore, skippered by Charles Clarke, the President of the British Mountaineering Council.

There are no female skippers this year, but there is a very strong entry in the Tilman Trophy, with 19 teams presently declaring their intention to get 4 of their number to the top of one of the 3 peaks. (Though many teams enter and decide during the race whether or not to go for it.)

There is also a link with the very first race in 1977, in which the yacht Contesa of Lorne finished in second place. This was a fact her skipper this time out, Martin Roe, was unaware of until the Race Secretary made the connection.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov