The PowerBar Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)

The Competition Continues

Rob Howard / 27.06.2007See All Event Posts Follow Event
The first 3 places may be decided but there are still plenty of trophies to race for, including the title of King of the Mountains, and the prestigious Tilman Trophy.

The Tilman Trophy, named after the explorer/mountaineer who inspired the race, and used to live in Barmouth, is for the team with the best all-round performance. To win teams have to put 4 out of the team of five onto a summit, and the first of the yachts to arrive at Corpach with a chance of winning were JourneyMaker 5.

They came into Corpach in 5th place but all those ahead of them had used the same two runners on each mountain. For JourneyMaker, David Wolfendale has run on all 3 mountains, with a different companion each time. Louse Makin completed the Snowdon run, and Tim Lucas undertook the longest run on Scafell Pike, leaving Andrew Hayward to make the run on Ben Nevis.

The ‘King of the Mountains’ title for the fastest pair of runners on all 3 peaks will not be decided until later. Currently the runners from Flapjack are leading, having completed the fastest time on both Snowdon and Scafell Pike … but they still have to get to Ben Nevis and complete their final run to win the cup! (At under 28 feet Flapjack is one of the smaller boats in the race so will take some time for the long sail up to Fort William.)

When Jos Schouten and Martin Beale do get to run on Ben Nevis they will have to complete the distance in under 4 hours 50 minutes to win. This should be comfortably within their ability judging by the times they set on the first two mountains. Jos has finished 3rd in the Tasmanian 3 Peaks Yacht Race before and Martin is a very experienced British trail and mountain marathon runner.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov