Magellan Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Navigation

A race winning choice: NewsFlash

Rob Howard FROM the motor launch Farsain / 24.06.2003See All Event Posts Follow Event
10:00pm 24th June

We found Spirit of Barmouth just exiting the sound of Islay, the crew were rowing hard using the long carbon-fibre oars. Staying close inshore in their fight against the tide they were passing close to the Rubha a\'Mhail lighthouse. Once round the headland they were hoping to catch a breeze in the open ocean. Conditions here are virtually flat calm and after struggling for several hours the crew were disspirited and felt they\'d made the wrong decision.

However, when we found Hellefix in the sound of Jura the sea was glassy and the boat virtually stationary. The crew were bitterly regreting the decision made at Whitehaven, to leave their oars behind! Although the tide was with them it may turn against them before they leave the sound and stop them where they are.

Spirit of Barmouth won\'t have this problem but with the wind forcast to increase in the next few hours, may still have an effect on the outcome of this slow-motion tactical battle

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov