Magellan Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Navigation

Hellefix are the Winners

Rob / 29.06.2004See All Event Posts Follow Event
Running strongly and looking remarkably fresh Rob Barel and Machiel Ittmann ran through the finish line, set between the Caledonian Canal and Loch Linnhe, at 20.16 on Tuesday night. The crew of Hellefix and a small crowd of race staff and supporters were there to applaud them, and the Dutch team, the first international visitors to win the race in it’s 27 year history.

“Yes, I know we are the first team from outside the UK to win,� said a smiling Jack Kamminga, “and I think it’s good for the race, and to have the Isreali team here. I hope many more will visitors will come.� Depending on the times of other teams the runners could also be the first international winners of the ‘King of the Mountains’ trophy, a remarkable achievement for two Dutchmen! (Sealion’s runners would have to complete Ben Nevis 55 minutes quicker to beat them.)

They are both top class triathletes and Ittmann is a national cross country skier and a good orienteer. He was the team’s first choice, but was initially unable to race, then at the last minute when Jurrien Kuipers pulled out, he was able to join the team. “Usually Rob is stronger,� he said, “but we ran well together and were much quicker than last year when Rob ran with different and slower partners. The mountains were very spectacular and the atmosphere very special. All of them had cloud and rain, but in a way that added to the challenge and the atmosphere. I’m really pleased to have raced here and won.�

Hellefix won the Tilman Trohpy has year, so if they do claim the ‘King of the Mountains’ title to go alongside the Daily Telegraph Trophy for the race win they will have on all the major race trophies in two years.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov