Skip Navigation

Aug 24 2019

Marunuma Swimrun

  • Japan (JPN)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Open Water Swimming
  • Team
  • One Day Event
Length: 30 km
Location: Marunuma,Gunma Prefecture

Asia's longest Swimrun race will held in Japan.

This race course is tough and wild. The varied course, the water temperature and the very strong group of participants will challenge everyone to put in their best performances for standard distance. At the sprint distance, all beginner athletes can enjoy swimrun.

The weather in August is usually cool summer weather but the weather can vary very much during the course of the weekend with sun, calm and heavy rain. The swims in beautiful lake are long enough, the water temperature is about 13-15 degrees. The running course is on wild trails.

The start and finish will be at Hotel Marunuma Kankoso, which is very traditional Japanese  in style. We are planning to prepare the bus from Narita/Haneda airport to the hotel.

There will be a minimum of 10 swims and the longest swim will be around 1400 metres. The running sections will also be 10 sections on nice trails and you need to climb up from altitude of 1400m to 1700m. The total distance is just approx. 30 km for standard  and 10 km for sprint.

The total winning time will be to 7 hours for standard and 3 hours for sprint. We will have three cut-offs for safety reasons, these are based on the 2018 times. The longest time on the course will be close to 9 hours. There will of course, be plenty of safety cover, small energy stations on the trail and medical staff on call.

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Fiona McBryde

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov