Skip Navigation

Mar 21 2020

Red Bull Neptune Steps 2020

  • UK (GBR)
  • Open Water Swimming
  • Other Disciplines
  • Solo
  • Team
  • Multi Day Event

Length: 2 days
Location: Maryhill, Glasgow

Red Bull Neptune Steps is an elite swimming endurance race through Maryhill Locks in Glasgow – which incorporates a 420-metre sprint swim, alongside seven climbs over each canal gate that the competitors encounter along the way.

The event will start with 1,000 competitors, competing in waves across two days, and featuring separate male, female and pairs competitions. The highest placed swimmers from each round move onto the semi-finals and eventually the final.

Each canal gate features a different obstacle, which the swimmers use to climb up – including cargo net, ropes, wood ladder, rope ladders and a climbing wall.

Red Bull Neptune Steps is held with the support of Scottish Canals. See or follow @ScottishCanals for more information.

Latest News Article

Biggest Ever Red Bull Neptune Steps Event To Be Staged In Glasgow
The Maryhill Locks will once again be the setting for the UK’s toughest open water swimming challenge, as Red Bull Neptune Steps Read More

Red Bull Neptune Steps 2020

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Adventure Racing Tags

Eco-Challenge Fiji Islands, Rogue Raid, Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020, The 25th Corsica Raid, Swiss Epic, PARS Turbo 2020, Lapland Wilderness Challenge, ÖTILLÖ World Series Engadin, The Lockdown, Sea to Sea Expedition Race, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Adventure Racing, Expedition Racing, Adventure Racing World Series, Eco Challenge, Adventure Racing European Series

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov