GODzone Adventure - Chapter 4

  • New Zealand (NZL)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling
  • Navigation

Global Outdoor Brand Kathmandu Aligns with Godzone

News Release / 02.12.2014See All Event Posts Follow Event
Teams on the coasteering section of the 2014 GODZone in Kaik
Teams on the coasteering section of the 2014 GODZone in Kaik

GODZone, New Zealand’s premier expedition adventure race, announced today that outdoor global brand Kathmandu is the exclusive apparel sponsor for the 2015 GODZone adventure race to be held next March in Wanaka.
Kathmandu is a global leader in designing premium outdoor clothing and equipment for travel and adventure with more than 150 stores across New Zealand, Australia and the UK.
GODZone Race Director Warren Bates says the Kathmandu range is widely accessible to a broad cross section of people interested in spending more time in the outdoors and is an ideal apparel partner for GODZone. 
“As a company they actively work to strengthen communities where their products are available, for example sponsoring both the Australian and New Zealand Red Cross and Outward Bound, so we are delighted to be furthering our relationship with them. 
This is a hugely popular outdoor brand that offers an extensive range of products that our adventure competitors use in their everyday life, such as tents to take the family camping and hiking gear for training, so we know they will enjoy the gear.”
As apparel sponsors, Kathmandu will be producing the official GODZone race bibs that are compulsory for teams to wear at all times throughout the seven day event. A range of Kathmandu outdoor tents will be utilized across the adventure-racing course at various checkpoints and transition areas, and products such as jackets and bags will also be put up as prizes in certain race categories.
Kathmandu spokesperson Andi Fear-Ross says the company’s core purpose is to inspire adventure in everyone and that Kathmandu is keen to support the passion and resourcefulness shown by adventure racers during the GODZone event.
“GODZone is one of the pinnacle races on the adventure race calendar and we are fortunate to have it on our doorstep. The mental and physical challenges participants face over the course of the race is immense, and they do it for the reward of pushing their own personal boundaries and seeing parts of New Zealand that not many of us get the opportunity to venture into. This love of adventure and travel, and their resourcefulness, passion and determination are some of Kathmandu’s core values, so we are very proud to be supporting GODZone.”
Online followers of GODZone will have the opportunity to win Kathmandu products during the live web broadcast of the adventure race from 28th February to 7th March 2015. 
There will be daily online competitions via  www.godzoneadventure.com and the facebook page  Mr Bates says this will engage the wider adventure racing community and general public who follow live tracking and media blogs.
“Our online audience grows dramatically during race week and at certain times of the day and night it spikes by thousands of people coming online to check where the teams are. This year, thanks to the collaboration with Kathmandu, we will be able to reward viewers with the chance to win some great products.”
For more information on Kathmandu, visit http://www.kathmandu.co.nz


See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov