Simon Tshabalala Secures Historic Hat-Trick with Third Consecutive Kway Skyrun Victory

Press Release / 21.11.2023
Simon Tshabalala
Simon Tshabalala / © Craig Kolesky/ Nikon

In a thrilling display of endurance and determination, South African trail running sensation Simon Tshabalala has once again etched his name into the annals of history by clinching victory at the 2023 Kway Skyrun in a time of 14hrs14min40sec. This remarkable achievement marks Tshabalala's third consecutive win at one of the most challenging ultra-trail mountain races in the world, solidifying his status as a dominant force in the trail running community.

The Kway Skyrun, renowned for its unforgiving terrain and extreme altitudes, attracts elite athletes from around the globe seeking to test their limits. Tshabalala's triumphant performance today not only showcases his unparalleled skill and fitness but also underscores his mental fortitude and strategic prowess on the demanding trails.

The Kway Skyrun is not for the faint of heart. With a course that traverses the remote and rugged landscapes of the Drakensberg Mountains, participants face steep ascents, technical descents, and unpredictable weather conditions. The 100km self-supported, self-navigational race demands an extraordinary level of physical and mental resilience.

Simon Tshabalala's journey to victory in the 2023 Kway Skyrun began with a commanding start, as he quickly established himself as the front-runner. Known for his exceptional pacing and strategic approach, Tshabalala navigated the challenging course with finesse, maintaining a steady lead over his competitors.

As the race unfolded, Tshabalala showcased his prowess on both the ascents and descents, leaving spectators and fellow runners in awe of his technical skills. His ability to adapt to the unpredictable mountain conditions, gale force winds and pushing through the physical and mental challenges further underscored his status as a trail running maestro.

After crossing the finish line to secure his third consecutive Kway Skyrun victory, Tshabalala expressed his gratitude and reflected on the significance of the achievement. "The Kway Skyrun is a race that tests every aspect of a runner – physical, mental, and emotional. Winning it three times in a row is a humbling experience, and I am grateful for the support of my team, sponsors, and fellow competitors who push me to be my best," remarked Tshabalala.

Second place went to Thato Kabeli in a time of 15hrs59min58sec with third place, Dirk Immelmen hot on his heels in a time of 15hrs59min59sec.

Retaining her crown for the second year in a row and taking more than an hour off of her 2022 winning time, Simone Malan, was the first lady over the finish line and 6th place overall, in a time of 16hrs23min54sec.  “It is such a privilege to run this race, it was definitely tough out there today, but I was well prepared and was able to run with the most unbelievably amazing people,” says Simone Malan.

Second place went to Jess Barrow in a time of 18hrs35min39sec and third to Suzette von Broembsen in a time of 22hrs53min00sec.

In the 65km race, 2021 route winner, Tonic Masilo, took first place in 08hrs26min51sec, with SkyRun legend, AJ Calitz in second place in a time of 08hrs30min51sec. Herold Klingenberg took the final podium position in a time of 09hrs43min38sec. Neelke Stadler took the leading lady position in a time of 11hrs55min06sec, with Lindi Georgiou and Courtney Pulford in a second-place tie in a time of 12hrs29min04sec.

For the full details on all positions, please visit

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov