Cape Wrath Ultra

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running

Lead changes on day 3 at the Cape Wrath Ultra

Press Release / 22.05.2024See All Event Posts Follow Event
Day 3 at the Cape Wrath Ultra
Day 3 at the Cape Wrath Ultra / © No Limits Photography

There were changes at the front of the field on day three of the 2024 Cape Wrath Ultra. Although regarded as the toughest stage, in the women's race Elsa Morgan ate up the 68km and over 2,300m of ascent from Kinloch Hourn to Achnashellach, and now holds a six minutes lead over former leader Bridget Glaister, with the USA’s Erin Smith moving up into third. Lewis Taylor continued to set the pace in the men’s race and has a lead of almost 50 minutes over Ludwig Antilli, with the UK’s Jason Leaf now in third place.

After another strong day, Lewis Taylor commented: “The middle 25km was tough. It was really sunny and I was trying to keep focussed going through a bad patch. I had some people in front of me, so I would catch them up and run with them for a bit before going on my way which was quite nice. Going up from the bottom of the Falls of Glomach I felt really good – I was just cruising along.”

He appreciated the support from a fellow participant. He said, “Bridget (Glaister) saved my race. I got a blister on my big toe and could feel it just before the Falls of Glomach. I just passed her and she passed me and gave me some tape. I owe her at least a pint!” 

Elsewhere in the field, It was a day of disappointment for some participants, with a few people struggling to make the cut offs in the unexpected heat. Of 172 starters, there are now only 89 participants left in the full race. An additional 65 runners have stayed with the event to tackle the shorter Cape Wrath Explorer option.

After day three of the 2024 Cape Wrath Ultra, the leading runners are:


1.      Lewis Taylor - 20:20:48

2.      Ludwig Antilli - 21:09:54

3.      Jason Leaf - 21:34:07


1.      Elsa Morgan - 23:55:01

2.      Bridget Glaister - 24:01:18

3.      Erin Smith - 25:15:19.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov