Skip Navigation

ÖTILLÖ - The Swimrun World Championship is on for 2nd September

Press Release / 21.08.2019
ÖTILLÖ, the Swimrun World Championship
ÖTILLÖ, the Swimrun World Championship / ©

ÖTILLÖ, the Swimrun World Championship in the Stockholm archipelago is the original race of the new, popular and growing sport of swimrun. The 14th edition of the prestigious race will see 160 teams of two from across the globe trail running and open water swimming for 75 km across the beautiful archipelago. ÖTILLÖ is a gruelling, spectacular race, known as one of the toughest one-day races in the world.

ÖTILLÖ, meaning “island to island” in Swedish, has become one of the most respected endurance races in the world. The course is hard and long. Technical trails, slippery rocks, and cold, sometimes rough swims with a lot of current is part of the demanding course of 65 km of running and 10 km of swimming, over and between 24 islands in the Stockholm archipelago.

The internationally growing swimrun movement saw its birth 14 years ago when ÖTILLÖ was conceived after a daring bet in the bar between four friends. The phenomena of alternating running and swimming on a natural course has grown to a new popular sport, swimrun, that is spreading rapidly around the world. Athletes in all three categories men, women and mixed, are nowadays investing wholeheartedly in the sport and racing in competitions all year round at every continent. 

During the 14 years of ÖTILLÖ, performance, experience and speed has dramatically increased around the 75 km long race course. Since three years, a few teams have accomplished the impressive feat of finishing under the magic eight-hour limit. This year there are more top teams than ever. They will all be fighting for the coveted podium spots and push the pace even further. The fastest time ever around the course was set last year by the Swedish duo Fredrik Axegård and Alex Flores: 7 hours, 39 minutes and 25 seconds. During the afternoon of race day, Monday 2nd September, we will know if any teams have managed to go even faster and yet again break boundaries at ÖTILLÖ.

Teams ÖTILLÖ 2019


14th edition

75 km running and swimming from dawn till dusk in the Stockholm archipelago
65 km of trail running

10 km of open water swimming in the Baltic Sea
Water temperature 10–15° C
24 islands to cross

50 changes between running and swimming

The swims are between 100 and 1 780 metres long
The runs are between 70 and 19 700 metres long
Longest swim 1 780 metres

Longest run 19,7 km

160 teams – three categories: men, mixed, women

Teams of two; for safety reasons and for the unique experience
24 Nationalities

Course record (2018): 7:39:25 Fredrik Axegård och Alex Flores (SWE), Team Sport Office

Winners 2018:
• Men: Fredrik Axegård and Alex Flores (SWE), Team Sport Office, 7:39:25
• Mixed: Martin Flinta (SWE) and Helena Erbenova Karaskova (CZE), Thule Crew/Wolffwear Swimrun, 8:16:15
• Women: Kristin Larsson and Annika Ericsson (SWE), Team Outdoor Experten, 8:56:26

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

More About ÖTILLÖ - The Swimrun World Championship

Tight battle at ÖTILLÖ, the Swimrun World Championship 2019

ÖTILLÖ - The Swimrun World Championship

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Adventure Racing Tags

Eco-Challenge Fiji Islands, Rogue Raid, Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020, The 25th Corsica Raid, Swiss Epic, PARS Turbo 2020, Lapland Wilderness Challenge, ÖTILLÖ World Series Engadin, The Lockdown, Sea to Sea Expedition Race, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Adventure Racing, Expedition Racing, Adventure Racing World Series, Eco Challenge, Adventure Racing European Series

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov