Salomon Glen Coe Skyline

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running

Thousands take part in 2022 Salomon Skyline Scotland events

Press Release / 07.10.2022See All Event Posts Follow Event
Naomi Lang in action during the 2022 Salomon Ring of Steall Race
Naomi Lang in action during the 2022 Salomon Ring of Steall Race / © No Limits Photography

Thousands of runners took part in this year’s Salomon Skyline Scotland® events last weekend. Once again, Kinlochleven was the base for a spectacular two-day festival of skyraces and trail races, ranging in distance from 5km to 80km. This year, established skyraces and trail races were joined by two new events, which both formed part of world championship series. Salomon Skyline Scotland® 2022 also brought a large number of spectators into the area, to cheer on the participants and enjoy talks, entertainment and food and drink in the event village near the finish line.

The running action began early on Saturday 17 September with one of the new races on the event programme, the Lochaber 80 Ultra. The longest distance race of the weekend and part of the SpartanTrail Ultra World Championship, the event took runners on good trails through the wild and remote landscapes of Lochaber.The race was won by Sweden’s Simen Hjalmar Wästlund in seven hours, 17 minutes and 25 seconds, with Jacob Snochowski of Poland second in 7:39:19 and Eoin Lennon of Ireland third in 8:11:21. UK athlete Katie Kaars Sijpesteijn won the women’s race in 8:49:05, followed by Ireland’s Emma Stuart (9:32:57) and the UK’s Elaine Bisson (9:47:39).On the same day, the shortest run of the weekend also took place, with runners taking on a challenging 5km route in the Grey Mare’s Trail Race.

The first skyrace of the weekend was the Salomon Ring of Steall Skyrace™. 700 runners headed off from the start in Kinlochleven to tackle a very challenging route across the Mamores - taking in 29km, 2,500m of climbing and plenty of ridge scrambling along the way. The race was won by Alan Cherry from the UK in 3:44:34, with fellow countryman Daniel Connolly second in 3:53:42. Third overall and first woman was Scotland’s Naomi Lang in 3:55:38. Third man was Ruaridh Mon-Williams (UK) in 3:58:51. Second woman was Fiona Bunn (UK) in 4:41:52, with Anwen Darlington of Wales third in 4:46:09.

Heading up Curved Ridge - Photo No Limits Photography

The most challenging and technical event of Salomon Skyline Scotland®began early on Sunday 18 September. Participants in the now iconic Salomon Glen Coe Skyline® faced 52km and 4,750m of ascent, with a route that included the two famous ridges of Curved Ridge and Aonach Eagach. The race was won by Andrew Lamont (UK) in 8:13:39, with the USA’s Evan Williams second in 8:19:51 and Ed Brewer (UK) third in 8:43:43. Switzerland’s Noëmi Löw won the women’s race in 11:05:18, with Natalie Taylor (UK) second in 11:23:12 and Scotland’s Clementine Mitchell third in 11:33:17.

The final skyrace of the weekend was the Salomon Ben Nevis Ultra™, with 52km and 4,000m of ascent that took participants towards Glen Nevis and up to the summit of Ben Nevis, before returning to Kinlochleven. Jack Oates (UK) won the race in 8:06:17, with William White (UK) second in 8:14:37 and Jamie Kennedy third (8:29:53). Scotland’s Lynne Allen won the women’s race in 9:30:47, with Helen Burgess (UK) second in 9:52:09 and Sophie McKeeman (UK) third in 9:59:23.

Meanwhile, there were three more trail races on the Sunday morning, providing challenges and beautiful views for every level of runner. The 27km Mamores Stalker Trail Race was part of the Spartan Trail World Championship and boasted a very competitive field. The men’s race was won by Spain’s Antonio Martínez Pérez in 2:03:00and Norway’s Andrine Benjaminsen won the women’s race in 2:20:05. Hundreds more runners tackled 18km and 10km runs.

For more news from Salomon Skyline Scotland® 2022 and to find the full results from the races, and follow @skylinescotland on social media for future updates.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov