One Water Race

  • Sweden (SWE)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Navigation
  • Open Water Swimming

Team Australia Win One Water Race after 60 hours

Press Release / 28.08.2023See All Event Posts Follow Event
One Water Race 2023 Winners - Team Australia
One Water Race 2023 Winners - Team Australia / © One Water Race

On the 24th of August, Team Australia emerged as the victors of the One Water Race, the world’s most challenging endurance race, as they crossed the finish line after navigating, swimming, and running over 250 kilometres through the Stockholm archipelago nonstop.

Team 2 – Australia was the sole team out of a total of seven teams that crossed the finish line in this year’s race, and it took them just under 60 hours to reach the finish line. Other teams had to drop out due to exhaustion, hunger, medical reasons, or because they did not adhere to the specified time limits at the 13 different checkpoints along the course.

"During One Water Race 2023 we have been humbled by the awesomeness of the Swedish archipelago. After 60 hours swimming and running through these cold waters and stunning environment we are grateful and elated to be able to have made it to Landsort and take the victory.," said Julian Dent, Support Crew for the winners.

Team 4 – Sweden pushed Team 2 – Australia to the limit

Team 4 – Sweden, consisting of Alexander Koller, Marika Wagner, Fredrik Nilzén, and Robert Hanning, stayed with Team 2 – Australia until the second-to-last checkpoint out of a total of 13 checkpoints. By that point, the gap to Australia had widened by seven hours, and the team had to withdraw because they couldn’t stay within the designated time limits between the different checkpoints.

"Our experience in One Water Race has reminded us that by utilising each other’s strengths and a relentless positive attitude we can overcome seemingly impossible challenges. We want to use this victory to remind everyone that if we work together, use each other’s strengths and stay positive we can save our water together. Whether that be in our home in Australia or here in Stockholm’s archipelago, we are all connected by one water," said Julian Dent.

Thomas Ogander, founder of One Water Race, added: 

“This year’s race turned out to be tougher than expected. I believe the cold water and the south-southwesterly wind played a crucial role. We had truly strong teams at the starting line, but One Water Race involves so many different parameters in terms of planning, strategy, and tactics that all need to align for one to make it all the way through. Moreover, it’s as much about mental strength as it is about physical endurance. Team 2 – Australia excelled in every aspect, proving that we possess an infinite strength and capacity within us that can take us practically any distance.”

Team 2 – Australia:

– Rob Preston, Gippsland, Victoria

– Elizabeth Dornom, Melbourne, Victoria

– Glenn Wilkinson, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

– Julian Dent, Terrigal, New South Wales


1. Team 2 – Australia, 256 kilometers (59:59:17)
2. Team 4 – Sweden, 248 kilometers (DNF)
3. Team 5 – Canada / Australia / Sweden, 237 kilometers (DNF)
4. Team 1 – Sweden, 164 kilometers (DNF)
5. Team 3 – USA, 148 kilometers (DNF)
6. Team 6 – Uruguay / Brazil / Paraguay, 108 kilometers (DNF)
7. Team 7 – Sweden / Australia, 92 kilometers (DNF)

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov