Great Otway Gravel Grind

  • Australia (AUS)
  • Off-Road Cycling

Gravel Race Wows the Otways

Press Release / 25.02.2024See All Event Posts Follow Event
GOGG racing in the Otways
GOGG racing in the Otways / © Rapid Ascent

The 8th edition of the Great Otway Gravel Grind – known as “The GOGG” – has proven once again that is one of Australia’s best gravel events with over 500 riders taking part on Sunday 25 February 2024.

Gravel riders traversed the smooth, rolling dirt roads throughout the Otway Ranges in Victoria as part of the event’s two courses over 97km and 49km. The time-out zones are a key feature of The GOGG courses, with riders taking full advantage of the untimed rest stops and the team from Skratch serving up fan-favourite quesadilla’s!

In the 97km Big Ring Gravel Grind, carefully curated race tactics saw another brilliant race win by Tasman Nankervis for the men (his 6th win mind you!); and in-form Samara Sheppard for the women in times of 2:48:15 and 3:30:21, respectively.

The men’s field always seems to deliver an adrenalin-charged race to the finish line in Forrest. Official results that take into account the time-out zones saw Nankervis finish ahead of second place Connor Sens (2:49:52) and Brendon Davids (2:50:52).

“Connor and I were together for the first timed 33km segment; then after I fixed a mechanical in the time-out zone, it ended up being an individual time trial going back up Wye Road not really knowing who was ahead!” said Nankervis of the race.

“I’ve done this gravel race 6 times and it’s always the same tactic with the front riders seeing who can get to the first time-out zone first; then the advantage is always yours for the rest of the race… you can choose to ride defensively or just go for it!” continued Nankervis.

Nankervis was also our King of the Otways, placing 6th in the 100km Odyssey MTB yesterday, and backing up with his 1st place in the 97km gravel race.

Sheppard once again proved why she is Queen of the Otways as she backed up her 4th place in the 100km Odyssey MTB by placing 1st today, and enjoying the journey and social side that gravel riding offers.

“It was beautiful out on course; a lovely journey through the Otways; then my favourite part being the down the hill towards Wye River which was really stunning,” said Sheppard. “It was a tough day but so much fun with so many other riders out there… that’s the special thing about gravel, you can kind of chat to people along the way and it’s a little bit social as well as a big push!”

Gina Ricardo finished in second (3:34:27), with Shelley Knowles coming in third place in 3:49:51.

The day also saw some quality riding in the 49km Gravel Grind Course with first-timer Markus Chandler putting in a solid performance to finish in overall first place for the men in 1:40:16. For the women, it was once again a day for the ever-smiling youngster Ruby Taylor clocking in an impressive time of 1:47:35.

“I went pretty hard out to that first time-out zone to get a decent lead, so I’m stoked with the win!” said Chandler.

The 30km Rookie mountain bike race was also held Sunday in conjunction with the Gravel Grind as part of the Otway Odyssey weekend.

More than 300 riders took to the popular Forrest trails on the 30km course which is designed specifically for novice mountain bikers and developing juniors.

First across the line was Justin Vollerup in a solid time of 1:29:58. Whilst Alana Fletcher was our first Odyssey Angel (female) posting a time of 1:41:15 – a full 15 minutes clear of her nearest female competitor.

Rapid Ascent’s General Manager Sam Maffett was rapt with how the gravel day rolled out;

“We couldn’t be happier to see the gravel cycling community really embrace this event and experience such a spectacular course in the Otways,” said Maffett.

For full results and more event information head to and 

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov