ITERA-lite Wales

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling
  • Navigation

Inaugural 4 Nations Adventure Racing Championship Announced for Ireland and the UK

Press Release / 05.03.2024See All Event Posts Follow Event

Adventure Racing Ireland (ARI) and UK Adventure Racing have joined forces to launch the inaugural 4 Nations Adventure Racing Championship, hosted by Itera-lite in 2024.

Adventuring racing is rapidly growing across the globe thanks to the work done by the Adventure Racing World Series (ARWS).  After a successful 2023 season, that was capped by the World Championships in South Africa, the various organisers across the UK and Ireland have come together to further support the growth of the sport with this launch.

Paul McGreal from Durty Events has thrown his full weight behind this event and has also sponsored the annual trophies for this event.  He has also reopened early bird entry fees for Itera-lite to entice those who are on the fence about entering.  Now with a title on the line there is no excuse! Durty Events have also announced a free place is available to an U23 team who would like to compete in the event this year.

“We are excited and proud to be hosting the inaugural 4 Nations Championships at ITERA-lite in 2024,” said Paul McGreal from Durty Events.

“The creation of the Championships is an important and positive development in Adventure Racing in Europe, and we hope it will help fuel the visibility and growth of the sport in our region.  Wales is going to be a fantastic arena for the race as it is spectacular, wild, and adventurous. Our Course Planners Adam Rose and Gary Davies have produced a route that is worthy of Champions!”

The championship race is open to elite athletes and amateur adventurers from across the 4 Nations who will compete with the hopes of being the inaugural champions, or just having a good time in the amazing scenery of North Wales.

This championship aims to unite various countries, federations, foster camaraderie, and push the boundaries of AR in the region. The championship in 2024 will crown two winners – Mixed Pairs and Mixed team of 4, based on key qualifying criteria.

The championship also emphasises the significance of the collaboration between ARI and representatives from UK Adventure Racing to nurture and expand the reach of adventure racing.  By working together across boundaries, these organisations can create inclusive platforms that inspire participation, foster talent development, and celebrate the spirit of adventure.

Lorraine Horan, ARI Team Adventure Racing Officer, said, “It’s amazing to see the growth of adventure racing around the world currently. ARI are delighted to be involved in the UK/Ireland 4 Nations Championships this year. 

“A big thanks to Paul McGreal for facilitating this year's championship. We are delighted to see two categories which is really opens up the competition to everyone. With many Irish teams already entered, and a few more still to enter, it should make for a cracking championship.”

The long-term hopes are that this 4 Nations Championship will run annually as a 24 to 36-hour event with organisers bidding for the event. ARI provisionally plans to host the 2025 event in Ireland. A full announcement on that is expected after Itera-lite, later this year.

The 4 Nations Adventure Racing Championship promises to be a celebration of adventure, perseverance, and teamwork.  

For more information and to enter the race click here.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov