Maine Summer Adventure Race

  • USA (USA)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling
  • Navigation

2024 Maine Summer Adventure Race will go Island Hopping

Press Release / 10.07.2024See All Event Posts Follow Event
Island hopping will feature in the 2024 Maine Summer Adventure Race
Island hopping will feature in the 2024 Maine Summer Adventure Race / © Maine Summer Adventure Race

The Maine Summer Adventure Race will take its participants island hopping in its eighth annual edition on July 13-14, 2024.

The 3-hour, 8-hour, and 24-hour editions of Maine’s only U.S. Adventure Racing Association- and Adventure Race World Series-sanctioned adventure race will take teams of two to four people on a human-powered scavenger hunt on foot, bikes, and kayaks, in a search for 60 checkpoints hidden in the woods and on the waters of a 110-mile unmarked course.

For the second consecutive year, the start and finish of the race will be at P-3 Park in Brunswick, Maine. The 8-hour edition, geared toward beginner- and intermediate-level athletes, will begin at 8 a.m., while the experts in the 24-hour race will set off at 10 a.m., and the 3-hour family race is scheduled for a noon start on Saturday, July 13.

This year’s race will include off-trail trekking and road biking in the 3-hour race, with the addition of optional mountain biking and sea kayaking in the 8-hour race, and all that plus a long orienteering trek for the 24-hour race. Teams must combine athleticism with strategy and navigation to guide themselves to as many checkpoints as possible within the race’s time limit.

The Maine Summer Adventure Race, sponsored by L.L. Bean, OutThere Packs, Pasokin Peanut Butter Snacks, Squirt Cycling Products, and Zanfel, is designed to be the premier one-day race in New England. Racers will enjoy a post-race party with beer from Flight Deck Brewing and a feast catered by Wild Oats Bakery and Café, both right next to the park.The Maine Oyster Company will also be featured, with a free shucking bar greeting finishers.

For the third year in a row, the 24-hour race has been named a USARA Regional Championship, with the winner of this year’s race earning a free entry to the USARA National Championship in Snowshoe, West Virginia, on September 26-28, 2024. Additionally, the 24-hour Maine Summer Adventure Race is part of the Adventure Racing World Series North America Regional Circuit, with a free spot at the 2025 Adventure Racing World Championships in British Columbia, Canada, on the line.

“Maine’s coastline is one of the most spectacular sights in New England, if not the country, and our racers are going to get a good taste of it,” race co-director Kate White said. “Every participant, from first-time adventure racers to some of the best teams in the country, will enjoy this rare opportunity to explore these wild coastal areas.”

The Maine Summer Adventure Race is directed by the members of Strong Machine Adventure Racing, a nationally ranked adventure race team based in Portland, Maine.

More information on the race can be found at or by searching for the Maine Summer Adventure Race on Facebook.

The group, a Maine-registered nonprofit, previously organized the Wildlands Adventure Challenge in Orland, Maine, each October as a benefit to the Great Pond Mountain Wildlands Conservation Trust, and the Bath Adventure Scramble.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov