Skip Navigation

Swimrunman® Great Lakes Laffrey – Registration for 2019 open!!

Press Release / 20.11.2018

Swimrunman® Great Lakes Laffrey – August 25, 2019

A WORLD PREMIERE IN 2019! Becoming an indispensable date in the calendar, the SWIMRUNMAN Great Lakes of LAFFREY returns in 2019 with an exclusive: the first VERTICAL Route SWIMRUNMAN ever organized in the world.

With a 100% new course and an unprecedented VERTICAL format, the playground reserved by the Great Lakes of Laffrey for the lovers of Swimrun is a pure marvel. At 1000m altitude in the heart of the Alps; at the foot of the Taillefer massif (2857m); the Grand Serre Alpe (2141m); and the L'obiou in the background (2789m); the chain of lakes is atypical and the mountainous trails abound with surprises. In 2019, the CLASSIC and SPRINT formats will take on new tracks that will benefit from the natural strengths of the region. In addition to these two standard distances, the new challenge will make it's apperance: the first VERTICAL SWIMRUNMAN® ever organized.

It's a world premiere and it's French. The "Alpe du Grand Serre" in patois means "the highest peak" and it is all up there that the swimrunners will have to go. To win their finishers medal competitors will have to complete 8 swimming sections (6.3 km), including an incredible crossing of 2450m down the length of Lake Laffrey, 9 sections of running (22km), then this Vertical Kilometre of Alpe du Grand Serre for an epic and unprecedented finale. With no choice but to face the dizzying slope of the mountain that makes up the vertical kilometer - 52% average, 1811m long for 1000m D+. Teams will need to complete the course in under 6h36min30sec to avoid the cut-off.

800 participants expected and setting up a Prize Money

Spread over the communes of Laffrey, Cholonge, Saint Théoffrey and Villard-Saint-Christophe, the courses will cross the plateau Matheysin, a real home for this third edition.

In 2018 all the courses had been displayed complete several weeks before the date of the event and, undoubtedly, this third edition should be sold out quickly. More than 75 French Departments and 12 nationalities were represented last year, the growing development of SWIMRUNMAN® FRANCE events is helping to attract increasing numbers of French and European swimrunners. Sunday, November 18, the appointment is given on To register for one of the mythical swimrun of the calendar.

In 2019, in order to bring together the world elite in Isère, the Steering Committee wished to establish a system of Prize Money On the format SWIMRUNMAN® VERTICAL, equally divided between the teams women, mixed and men.

PRIZE MONEY: 3 000 €

ENTRIES: Opening on Sunday 18 November at 6 p.m. 100% Online on
SPRINT Format – 13.85 km: solo, €50. In pairs, 50 €/person.
CLASSIC Format – 21.65 km: solo, €75. In pairs, 75 €/person.
VERTICAL Format – 30.1 km: in pairs only, €105/person.

Instagram: @SWIMRUNMAN

About ALCI 4 events
"A French company specializing in events, ALCI 4 events creates and organizes demonstrations throughout the territory. For example, since 2015 it has developed its brand Run'Bow Colors ® (, which has already welcomed nearly 60 000 participants and, more recently, it is its label SWIMRUNMAN® France ( that is speaking to the athletes."

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]


A World Premiere - Vertical Swimrunman France

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov