Skip Navigation

  • News Articles

ÖTILLÖ Swimrun Sprint Final 15k in a New Format To Replace the 2020 World Champs

Press Release / 28.08.2020
Otillo Swimrun
Otillo Swimrun / © Pierre Mangez / Otillo Swimrun

After the very disappointing news that the Swedish authorities would not allow the 2020 World Swimrun Championship we are very happy to host a new version of ÖTILLÖ Sprint Final15K.

We have designed a new race course that will show the fantastic trails of the island of Utö, the small, rugged skerries to the North and some spectacular swims. Even though the course is only 12.5 km long it has a total of twelve swims and thirteen runs. It will be a total immersion in nature.

As the Swedish regulations only allow 50 persons on the course at the same time we have set up three starts on Saturday and three starts on Sunday which will accommodate a total of 300 racers. These span World Champions to newcomers. You can follow the races online here.

This new format also adds another aspect which is that we will not know the outcome of the races until the last start on Sunday, only after that race will we know who has won.

Overall results will be found here.

This will be a celebration of Swimrun!


15 years ago the first ÖTILLÖ race was conceived and finished by Utö Värdshus on the island of Utö. It was the start of what later became the sport of Swimrun, which now is all over the world.

The island of Utö is in the Southern part of the Stockholm Archipelago, in the Municipality of Haninge and within 90 minutes of the Stockholm city centre. The island has a small, year-round population and a long history. The rugged Eastern coast, the trails and the loving atmosphere makes this the ideal place for Swimrun.

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov