GBC 500 Second Edition To Welcome More Riders to the Eastern Townships

Press Release / 21.07.2021
Riding the CBC500
Riding the CBC500 / © Endurance Aventure

The Gravel Bikepacking Challenge 500’s (GBC 500) second edition, presented by Argon 18, will soon take place in Eastern Townships of Quebec, and keeps evolving as the number of participants has more than doubled for the current year’s challenge.

The first edition was held during the pandemic of Summer 2020 and it’s not too much to say that its return has been awaited. Jean-Thomas Boily, cofounder of the now established event management company, Endurance Aventure, said he was grateful for the enthusiasm of last’s year participants.

He added that considering the global situation and the safety protocols which had to be prioritized, the organisation had no other choice but to keep the number of cyclists involved pretty low. Seventy riders were then allowed to race for the first edition. This year’s event will host a larger crowd, including first timers as well as experienced cyclists, showing up as team members or solo riders.

GBC 500 is a gravel bike challenge, offering 500 km of the nicest gravel routes and beautiful sceneries across the Eastern Townships. Departure will be from the Velo Cafe, in Magog, on August 14th. An equivalent of six ascents of Orford (Mount-Orford) such as 6000m D+ comes with the challenge. Participants can count on a maximum of six days to get back to the Velo Cafe on their gravel bike. The adventure is self-supported, although some surprises are to be expected on the way. Furthermore, being amazed by the view and the surroundings are part of the experience. Endurance Aventure’s team nourishes the desire to make a difference, to promote local businesses, restaurants and accommodations along the way.

Mr Boily also said: “We want this event will host professional athletes as well as cyclists from all levels and background of experiences. We are putting the emphasis on a different way to travel and to discover our beautiful area, encouraging people to try local products and enjoy the ride in a secure environment, a nest for adventure”. The Gravel Bikepacking Challenge 500 (GBC 500) website presents athlete's profile and confirms their diverse horizons. Electrically-assisted bicycle (E-Bike) users are also welcome to join GBC500 and are in for a treat!

Adding to the invite, Jean-Thomas Boily adds: “We’re fortunate to welcome riders taking part in some of our events and coming back from one to the other. GBC 500 counts on their charts and calendars. Some of our cyclists will be here for their first attempt and many others, who came last year, will be back again.” The video portraits la série vidéo Des pionniers, available on the event’s website, speak of some of these athletes and tell the story of their first edition’s experience.

Moving towards a promising second edition, Daniel Poirier, Endurance Aventure’s cofounder, gives confirmation that Magog’s City will act as the event’s official partner. A partnership has also been established between GBC 500 and Argon 18, Zenit nutrition, La Laiterie de Coaticook and Bières des Cantons.

Take a glimpse into the GBC 500:

Athlete Profiles - Gravel Bikepacking Challenge 500 (GBC 500)

GBC500 Pionneers - Gravel Bikepacking Challenge 500 (GBC 500)


L'équipe Argon-18 au GBC 500km

Event website:

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov