Skip Navigation

Weiss, Preen Crowned XTERRA SA Champions

Press Release / 24.02.2019

It was a spectacular day for XTERRA racing out in Elgin Grabouw (Western Cape) on Sunday, 24 February 2019 with Bradley Weiss (Stellenbosch) and Haley Preen (Hout Bay) throwing down the gauntlet in the Elite Men’s and Women’s Race respectively in their pursuit of the coveted title of XTERRA South Africa Champion.

Taking place at the Elgin Grabouw Country Club (Western Cape), an area that has affectionately become known as XTERRA Country, the  2019 XTERRA South Africa Championship pitted off-road triathletes against a 1.5km swim in the Eikenhof Dam, a +- 27km mountain bike course followed by a 12.4km trail run.

“It was perfect weather to race today,” said a very happy Weiss.  “This is my 10th or 11th year racing in Grabouw and I think this is the best weather that we’ve ever had.  There was no wind, the water was flat and it was cool, a little bit overcast which is great racing weather.  Coming into the race having won the 70.3 South African Championship meant that my form was pretty good.  It’s always tricky switching between road and mountain bike, so I had to do a bit of mountain biking leading into the event.  I still didn’t feel like I’d spent enough time on the mountain bike, but I loved the new course.  It had a lot of climbing and I really enjoyed the new single track sections that were added.  The run was flat and fast, completely different to what I am used to racing here in Grabouw.  I am very happy to take the win and another South African title.

Weiss successfully defended his XTERRA SA Champion title in a deserving time of 02 hours 29 minutes 08 seconds.  Cameron Macnair came in 2nd, while Michael Ferreira finished 3rd.

In the women’s elite race Haley Preen claimed her first XTERRA South Africa Championship title in an impressive time of 02 hours 51 minutes 40 seconds.  

“The swim is always my weakest discipline, but I feel that I had a fairly good swim.  I think I came out the water in 4th place (in the women’s race),” said Preen.  “I caught Vicky and the leading woman on the first climb on the mountain bike route.”

Preen entered the transition area in first place and maintained her lead on the trail run.  “I had a good run as well,” continues Preen.  “I love XTERRA.  I just love the whole off-road triathlon vibe.  My goal was to make the podium today.  Crossing the finish line in first place was amazing.  XTERRA is the best family event and the mountain bike course is amazing.” 

Vicky van der Merwe came in 2nd, while Johandri Leicester finished 3rd

XTERRA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP:  The XTERRA South Africa Championship kicked off the 2019 XTERRA World Tour.  Entrants stood a chance to qualify for the XTERRA World Championship race, the last in a series of more than 100 off-road triathlon races held in 30 countries and 38 U.S. States.

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

More About XTERRA South Africa

Riddle, Detering Clinch XTERRA Lite victories in Grabouw

Weiss Sets Sights On XTERRA Grabouw Victory

XTERRA Grabouw Boasts New Routes in 2019

XTERRA South Africa

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Adventure Racing Tags

Eco-Challenge Fiji Islands, Rogue Raid, Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020, The 25th Corsica Raid, Swiss Epic, PARS Turbo 2020, Lapland Wilderness Challenge, ÖTILLÖ World Series Engadin, The Lockdown, Sea to Sea Expedition Race, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Adventure Racing, Expedition Racing, Adventure Racing World Series, Eco Challenge, Adventure Racing European Series

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov