Skip Navigation

YACS: Will Team Yeti Maintain Their Winning Streak?

Anne-Marie Dunhill / 05.09.2019
Team Yeti on the finish line last year
Team Yeti on the finish line last year / © Rob Howard

International teams have been arriving from around the world to compete in the 2019 edition of the Yeti Adventure Challenge Silkeborg (YACS). It is set to be a weekend of adventure with several different distances proposed but SleepMonsters will be focusing on the “Master” course which will be an expedition length course from point A to point B. YACS is the final race in the Adventure Racing European Series (ARES) circuit this year.

The race will start with a prologue beginning in the Silkeborg town square. This prologue, set to go around the town, will be especially spectator friendly as all points are easily accessible by foot. It will be a mass start and the results will decide the team’s starting time for the race. 

The roadbook states that the times that the other teams finish behind the fastest team of the prologue will be clocked as a ‘sit down’ penalty in TA3. (And teams will not be able to access their gear during the penalty time at TA3.)

After the prologue the teams will be bussed to the race start line, approximately two hours away from Silkeborg, and the actual race will start at 19:00. The first section will be 65kms on bike and is expected to take between 4-7 hours to complete. With only a few hours of light remaining after the race start, teams will be racing through the night. 

Navigation will play a key role in this race as it will be necessary on each and every section. This race is known for its tricky navigation and that fact may well give an advantage to local teams who are accustomed to training in the area. 

There are nine teams competing in the Master race, including three international teams from Ireland (Team Kinsale), Germany (SmARt endurance) and New Zealand (Roving Tukies), as well as six Danish teams. 

The Danish team Yeti has had an impressive winning streak having won the past five editions of the race. They will be the team to beat but it won’t be easy given that they’re fresh off a win at the ARWS race Raid Gallaecia in May which procured their entry in the 2020 World Championships in Paraguay. 

In a pre-race interview, team member Laura Knudsen said that their goal on every race is simply to do the best that they can but that the race results always also depend on how well the other teams race. She added that they’re a local team so they know the terrain well and are strong navigators and that she’s looking forward to seeing some of the ‘wilder’ parts of Denmark such as the west coast.

Team Yeti always races with the same four-member squad and they only compete in a few major races every year. Laura said, “Adventure racing takes so much mental focus during a race that it takes a couple of weeks to come back to normal after a race. Only doing a couple races a year means that we can recuperate and really look forward to and enjoy our next race.”

It will be fascinating to watch the race unfold over the wild, rugged Danish lands and we’ll know by the end of the weekend if Team Yeti been able to maintain their winning streak.

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

About The Author

Anne-Marie Dunhill
Anne-Marie is our Senior International Reporter covering World and European Champs and major races worldwide. She is a fluent French speaker and her insightful interviews of racers and organisers are a vital part of SleepMonsters editorial coverage.

More About Yeti Adventure Challenge Silkeborg

A Wild YACS On The West Coast of Denmark

Racing Denmark Adventures Upset The Reigning Champions For The Win

The Weather Wreaks Havoc On The Best Laid Plans

Racing The Wild West Coast

The Yeti Adventure Challenge Silkeborg Completes the European Adventure Racing Series 2019

Yeti Adventure Challenge Silkeborg

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


like us on facebook

Adventure Racing Tags

Eco-Challenge Fiji Islands, Rogue Raid, Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020, The 25th Corsica Raid, Swiss Epic, PARS Turbo 2020, Lapland Wilderness Challenge, ÖTILLÖ World Series Engadin, The Lockdown, Sea to Sea Expedition Race, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Adventure Racing, Expedition Racing, Adventure Racing World Series, Eco Challenge, Adventure Racing European Series

Our Patrons

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov