LedLenser Wartrail Challenge presented by K-Way

  • South Africa (ZAF)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling
  • Navigation

Perfect Conditions For The 2021 Ledlenser Wartrail Challenge Presented By K-Way

Press Release / 23.04.2021See All Event Posts Follow Event
Martin Dreyer
Martin Dreyer / © Llewellyn Lloyd - Reblex Photography

After a year of no races due to the global Covid19 pandemic, the 2021 Ledlenser Wartrail Challenge presented by K-Way SA athletes were gifted perfect weather conditions that saw South African sporting legend, Martin Dreyer, taking the overall win in a time of 21hrs26min40sec.

Second place in the individual race went to Clinton Macintosh in a time of 22hrs25min36sec, and 3rd to Craig Powell in 25hrs43min50sec.

“Every year I am blown away by the Ledlenser Wartrail. This event is not easy; it’s not for the masses; it is one of the few events that remains truly wild, where you, as an athlete, have to overcome the brutal course,” says Mike de Haast from Pure Adventures who organise the event. “This year’s race was tough, after all of the rains we have had the going in the veld was thick and gnarly, making the run and bike leg’s tougher than they normally are, which resulted in average times being 25% slower than usual!”

“What a privilege to take part in the 2021 Ledlenser Wartrail Challenge presented by K-Way SA! The race was hard going, but the setting is simply beautiful,” says race winner, Martin Dreyer. “An event like this is reason to keep your fitness up, so that you can enjoy adventures like this!”

The Teams category was won by Marthinus Lourens and Gideon Coetzee from Team Klipsringer in a total time of 31hrs03min46sec with husband and wife, Sally and John Haymans of Team Haymans taking 2nd place in a total time of 32hrs0min44sec.

Change a Life teams dominated in the Wartrail Relay with team Change a Life taking first place in 20hrs46min54sec, Team Change a Life 2 came in 2nd in a time of 21hrs02min13sec and Team Change a Life 1 in 3rd position in a time of 21hrs07min14sec.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov