ÖTILLÖ World Series Engadin

  • Switzerland (CHE)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Open Water Swimming

Mariette and Henneman Retain The Title At Engadin in the Swiss Alps

Press Release / 11.07.2021See All Event Posts Follow Event
Team Akunamatata
Team Akunamatata / © Otillo Swimrun

The ÖTILLÖ Swimrun World Series continues. Today the stage was the beautiful Engadin valley in the Swiss Alps. Three weeks ago it was the islands around Utö in the Stockholm Archipelago. The contrast could not be bigger yet the impressive racing was the same.

For most part of the World Series race, in all three categories, the top teams broke away early and pushed hard down the valley. It is so impressive to see how fast they move.

As in 2020 Remi Mariette & Guillaume Henneman (FRA) - Team Gravelines Triathlon Head - managed a perfect race and scored a comfortable win.

Remi & Guillaume who also will be racing together at the 2021 World Championship on September 6th pushed hard on the first loop of the race above Maloja and made a comfortable gap to the chasing teams. The winning time was: 5 hours 25 minutes and 29 seconds. In second place Adriel Young (AUS) & Oscar Olsson (SWE) - The Aussie & The Swede - crept closer and closer as the race progressed. Finishing 7 minutes behind the winners. Pierre Massonneau & Fabien Besancon (FRA) - Team Argon 18 France - finished in third place, 11 minutes behind the winners.

All teams raced hard through the mountains from Maloja to Silvaplana. In total they covered almost 46 km of which 39 500 metres was trail running on 9 run sections and almost 6 000 metres of swimming on 8 swim sections in the mountain lakes. This race course is awesome and one of the most respected in the world of swimrun.

In the Mixed teams, last years winners Victor Dahl / Desirée Andersson (SWE) - Team Envol - showed why they will be a force to reckon with at the World Championship. Their winning time was 5 hours 36 minutes and 45 seconds. They finished 3rd overall and 13 minutes ahead of the second mixed team Sabina Rapelli/ Alexis Charrier (CH/FRA) - Team Envol Switzerland. The third team was Team Teysachaud - Bastian Breine & Debora Verbeleen (CH).

In the Womens category there were only four (4) teams at the start. Several of the racers being among the best in the business. Last years winner, Ulrika Eriksson (SWE) teamed up with powerhouse Marika Wagner (SWE) and managed to win again 11 minutes in front of Diane Sadik (CH) & Jenny Ramstedt (SWE) - Kraken Swimrun. In third place Helen Wikmar & Jenny Hedborn (SWE) - Team ARK Addnature. Ulrika and Marika won the race in 6 hours 22 minutes and 55 seconds, in 9th place overall.

For the first time in ÖTILLÖ history solo racers were allowed in the World Series distance. Six men and one woman came to start. Almost all of them finished the race with big smiles where Florian Schäfer (FRA) was the first solo man in 5:23:26 minutes. Florian made his push early on in the race coming down to the water of the second swim just ahead of the first Men team. From then on he increased his lead with a few minutes to be the first over the finish line. Nathalie Wong (CH) was the first and only solo woman. Nathalie raced in yesterdays Sprint and finished fourth in the mixed category. She could not find a partner for today so she decided to take the start in solo. Unfortunately she did not finish the whole course.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov