The PowerBar Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)

A Still Caernarfon morning

Norma Stockford / 21.06.2009See All Event Posts Follow Event
There is hardly a breath of wind to ruffle the surface of the water as we sit in the caravan on Caernarfon quay waiting for the rest of the fleet.

Earlier this morning at 06.29 Hazard Chase arrived to drop off their runners Caroline Bullard and Janet Mc Iver. Close on their heels at 06.31 were Gordon Baxter and Niall Riddall from Journeymaker.

The boats began arriving thick and fast with Team IoM at 06.37, Penmaenmawr SC, 11th Signals, Madam Wen, Moby J, Starship, Topsham Toe in the Water and Team Torbellino all arriving within half an hour of each other.

The girs from Helly Hansen UK looking well rested and ready for the mountain began their run at 07.22. EADs Innovation Works, who were expected to be up among the leaders, arrived in fifteenth position at 07.31. As the runners leapt off the boat, skipper Geoff West was heard to apologise \"I\'m sorry it took so long chaps.\"

By 8 a.m. nineteen boats had arrived and with yachts arriving every couple of minutes, the marshalls had no time for their bacon sandwiches this year.

Team G.O.S.H. arrived in 20th position and runners Will Else and Mike Abbotts reported having had a decent sleep, expecting to do Snowdon in a time of five or six hours.

By 9.00 a.m. 23 boats had come in, the last one, Maracuja having rowed for 40 minutes as they have no engine. They describe themselves as \"Purists, doing the race in the spirit of Bill TIlman!\". Team and Ezra and Driac, the tail-enders had now rounded Bardsey and were recording a speed of 2.5 knots.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov