Cape Wrath Ultra

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running

Cape Wrath Ultra - Day One

22.05.2023See All Event Posts Follow Event

The 2023 Cape Wrath Ultra started yesterday (Sunday 21 May). Participants took a ferry ride from Fort William to the start line at Trislaig, and then were accompanied by a piper as they began their eight-day, 400km journey to Cape Wrath lighthouse. Day one was a relatively gentle introduction to the race, with runners covering 37km and 500m of ascent, as they made their way to the overnight camp at Glenfinnan. In contrast to last year, conditions were dry, with just a light breeze.

The fastest runner on the day was Scotland’s David Parrish, in a time of 2 hours 55 minutes. Although a competitive road and fell runner, this is David’s first ever ultra. He finished the day less than a minute ahead of Spain’s Fernando Alvarez. The fastest lady on the day (and seventh overall) was Jo Meek, in 3:09, 21 minutes ahead of Elaine Bisson. These are very early stages of the race and a lot is expected to change at the front of each field between now and Sunday 28 May.

After day one of the 2023 Cape Wrath Ultra, the leading runners are:


1st David Parrish (2 hours, 55 minutes, 59 seconds)

2nd Fernando Alvarez (2:56:25)

3rd Richard Lindsay (3:04:57)


1st Jo Meek (3:09:40) – seventh overall

2nd Elaine Bisson (3:30:46)

3rd Jana Szczepaniak (3:33:58).

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp

Our Patrons

AR World Series

SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


AR World Series

Thomas Proulx

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Warrior Adventure Racing

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

Rootstock Racing

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Possum Jump Adventures

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

Your Adventure Maps

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov