Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020

  • Czech Republic (CZE)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Paddling
  • Navigation
  • Team
  • Multi Day Event

The Czech Adventure Race – A Race Against Covid For Racers From Around Europe

Rob Howard / 24.08.2020
Ascending at the Czech Adventure Race
Ascending at the Czech Adventure Race / © Czech Adventure Race

The Czech Adventure Race is one of the few long adventure races taking place in Europe since the outbreak of Covid 19, and it was a brave decision for the organisers to commit to going ahead in such uncertain times.  They’ve been rewarded with a strong entry, including some good international teams looking for a race to do, some of those coming in after the cancellation of NORCHA in Portugal.

So far so good, but as things stand there is still some uncertainty around the race and who will be there, despite the first teams arriving about now ready for the race start on Thursday morning. Covid cases are rising again in Czechia, which is cause to be nervous.

World Series Race Directors Ana Rumiha and Igor Dorotic (Adventure Race Croatia) are on the start list for the shorter mini race but have told SleepMonsters it was too difficult to cross the Slovenian border so they will not make it.  British racer Maria Leijerstam has tried to take some of the uncertainty out of the equation by driving from the UK via Munich, to join her team mates in the OMM-Nordisk Germany team. They all took part in the Patagonian Expedition Race together in 2013, and Maria will be carrying an extra tracker – which you can follow here

There should be a very strong Dutch entry too, with the Dutch Adventure Race Team (DART), Team Dutch Direction and Team Sans-onlin.nl AR team all on the start list, along with two of Team Dutchables (Guido de Jong and Marijn Edelenbosch). They have given permission to race the long course as a pair, as have father and daughter team, Marco and Anna Celia Ponteri from Italy. The Italian pair are driving and tell us they have to cross 4 international borders.

There is a Danish entry too with the strong Delta Denmark team racing, and Lars Bukkehave having found a place on Team Fenix Multisport. (That came about after his entry in the Corsica Raid fell through with US and Canadian racers in his team unable to travel.) France is represented by team Lige2mollets and team Chifoumi, Estonian team Metsapeatus are on the start list, and so are 5 Polish teams making them the strongest international contingent.

All in all it’s a strong entry to compete with the home teams, who include Black Hill/EPO, Salomon Suunto CZAR and Fenix Multisport. Three of the Czech team who were 9th at Eco-Challenge are racing with Pavel Paloncy and Jan Obuskevio on the Fennix Multisport team and Tereza Rudolfova with Black Hill/EPO.  Salomon Suunto CZAR were 2nd last year so will be hoping to go one better and Metsapeatus were 5th in 2019.

So the countdown is on until the start at 09.00 Thursday. Let’s just hope all those teams make it to the start line!

See All Event Posts

About The Author

Rob Howard
Rob is Editor of SleepMonsters.com. He's traveled the world reporting on and photographing adventure races and day-to-day he keeps his finger on the pulse of AR to ensure SleepMonsters is the heartbeat of the sport.

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

Wenger Czech Adventure Race 2020

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov