The PowerBar Three Peaks Yacht Race

  • UK (GBR)
  • Off-Road Running
  • Off-Road Cycling
  • Navigation

White Clouds Leads Off the Start

Rob Howard / 19.06.2010See All Event Posts Follow Event
As 15.00 approached the ferries were busy taking teams out to their yachts, with GFT Adventure being one of the most relaxed and not getting back aboard until 15 minutes before the lifeboat lead the procession out of the harbour. White Clouds were not quite so relaxed as they had a mooring line snagged, but managed to free it in good time to leave the harbour with some help from the harbour master and joined the line setting out to the start.

This passed the breakwater which was lined with hundreds of spectators seeing the boats off and being entertained by the local Samba Drumming ban, whose rhythmic beat reverberated around the harbour. Moby J was last to leave the harbour, but with no rush as there was ample time before the start.

As the yachts prepared their starting tactics the start boat fired 5 and 10 minute warning flares, and spot on 16.00 Race Director Meic Ellis sounded the start and the fleet crossed the line without too much congestion or any penalties for an early start. Quickest away were Team Whistler and White Clouds, with White Clouds taking the lead. These two quickly opened up their lead as the wind was filling in strongly from the north and they were the first to reach it, with the rest of the fleet following. Prairie Oyster and the little 25 foot Hunter Delta from the Vagabond Mountaineer Club were bringing up the rear.

See All Stories On This Race

PayPal Limited Edition SleepMonsters BUFF Patreon SleepMonsters Newsletter SleepMonsters Calendar SignUp


AR Discussion Group

Our Patrons

Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Adventure Enablers

Danish AR Union

Open Adventure

Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Adventure Race Croatia

Adventure Race Georgia

Brian Gatens

Chris Dixon

-- -- --

Ajita Madan

Chipp Dodd

Celia Nash

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Josh Hayman

Liam St Pierre

Magnus Foss

Marijn Edelenbosch

Nicola MacLeod

Robert Rulison

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Adrian Crane

Barbara Campbell

Dejna Odvody

Ivan Park

Klaus Mygind

Lars Bukkehave

Marco Ponteri

Maria Leijerstam

Nigel Davison

Rob Horton

Semyon Yakimov